Free

BGC and Nike Virtual Hackathon Waitlist

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Black Girls CODE and Nike will be hosting this event.

About this Event

Just Hack It: Powering Human Connection Virtual Hackathon

This is an opportunity to join the waitlist for the event. Families will be notified when space is availible on a first-come basis.

Black Girls CODE is teaming up with Nike to host a virtual hackathon that will explore the intersection of sports and activism through the lens of technology. Dubbed Powering Human Connection, during the event our #futuretechbosses will develop innovative digital projects to cultivate community around matters they’re passionate about.

What is a hackathon?

A hackathon is an event designed to bring groups of people together as they work collaboratively to solve a wide array of problems through computer programming. Black Girls CODE youth hackathons are education-focused and allow students to work in teams with experienced mentors over a three-day weekend building apps and tools. Students will learn how to design and build apps, concluding the weekend with team presentations! A winning team will be chosen to claim the first-place prize.

Who can participate in the hackathon?

The Hackathon is open to girls of all experience levels. All are welcome and encouraged to register, whether a participant has previous coding exposure or is new to coding and app development!

We invite participants fitting into the following categories to register today:

Girls of all coding levels/experience

Girls ages 12 to 17 years old

Girls who are interested in computer science, STEM, mobile applications, and gaming

Girls with access to a computer, cell phone, and internet/web

Girls MUST BE available all three days of the Hackathon

All teams will present on Sunday, April 25 and there will be 5 finalist teams that go into the finals that day.

What's the schedule?

Friday, April 23

1:00PM PST/4:00 PM EST - Check in

2:00PM PST/5:00 PM EST - Sessions begin

7:00PM/10:00 PM EST - End of the day

Saturday, April 24

8:30AM PST/11:30AM EST- Check in

9:00AM PST/12:00PM EST - Sessions begin/Hacking resume

6:00PM PST/9:00PM EST - End of the day

Sunday, April 25

8:30AM PST/11:30AM EST - Check-in

9:00AM PST/12:00PM EST - Sessions begin

12:00 PM PST/3:00 PM EST - End of Hackathon

*Detailed Schedules will be sent to families via email 7 days prior to the start of the virtual Hackathon, as well as shared during Parent/Family Orientation. Participants will also be reminded during Welcome each day.

BlackGirlsCode.com

Imagine. Build. Create.

Interested in attending future BGC events, check out our Upcoming Programs.

Please contact lenard@blackgirlscode.org with any questions.

A special thank you to our partner.


		BGC and Nike Virtual Hackathon Waitlist image
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved