$159 – $199

Addressing Learning Loss Summit

Actions and Detail Panel

$159 – $199

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Event description
One-Day Virtual Summit

About this Event

 THIS IS AN ONLINE EVENT. Attendees will be able to login beginning at 9:45 am ET/6:45 am PT. The live session will begin at 10:00 am Eastern Time/7:00 am Pacific Time.

 REGISTERING WITH A PURCHASE ORDER?

To submit a registration form along with a purchase order, CLICK HERE. We also accept registration forms and school purchase orders by fax, mail or email (pd@accutrain.com).

Order processing fee does not apply to purchase orders.

All prices are quoted in US Dollars.

Learning loss due to COVID-19 shutdowns has become a huge concern for educators and parents throughout the world. Early results in North America suggest that students have fallen 3-5 months behind where they should be in math. In English, they have fallen 1-3 months behind. The data continues to be collected, and the problem is still growing! For at-risk students and minorities, the problem appears to be worse. And studies of a Pakistan shutdown in 2005 suggest that disadvantaged students could continue to fall even further behind.

The Addressing Learning Loss Virtual Summit on Friday, March 26th will be laser-focused on strategies for tackling this issue. Bestselling author Dr. Pedro Noguera, Dean of the USC Rossier School of Education, will open with a keynote entitled Responding to Learning Loss: Reengaging Our Students as Schools Reopen. Dr. Noguera will also host a conversation with school leaders on prioritizing academic recovery and mental wellness (together with health protocols) as students return to school. Supportive discipline innovator Larry Thompson will share insights on keeping students in the classroom. And Dr. John Almarode, Executive Director of Teaching & Learning at James Madison University’s College of Education, will offer practical solutions – based upon the latest research from the science of learning – for “beating the COVID Slide.” The 50 in 50 Panel will offer dozens of real-world strategies for teachers and administrators.

SUMMIT AGENDA

10:00 am ET/7:00 am PT: Dr. Pedro Noguera Keynote

Responding to Learning Loss: Reengaging Our Students as Schools Reopen

11:15 am ET/8:15 PT: Larry Thompson Keynote

Supportive, Non-Exclusionary Discipline Strategies to Keep Students in Class & Boost Achievement

1:00 pm ET/10:00 am PT Breakout Sessions:

Dr. Pedro Noguera: Prioritizing Academic Recovery & Mental Wellness (together with Health Protocols) as Schools Reopen: A Conversation with Social Leaders

Jessica Sinarski: Overcoming Learning Obstacles: Tools for the Trauma-Sensitive Classroom

Dr. Tommie Mabry: At-Risk & Struggling Students: Understand Them to Reengage Them

2:15 pm ET/11:15 am PT: Dr. John Almarode Keynote

Stoplights and Sticky Notes: Applying the Science of Learning to Help Students Make Up Lost Ground

3:30 pm ET/12:30 pm PT: 50 Ideas in 50 Minutes Panel

50 Practical Strategies for Reengaging All Students - Including Disadvantaged Learners & Students of Color (Panelists: Dr. John Almarode, Larry Thompson, Jessica Sinarski, Katrina Lassiter, Sherri Mitchell)

4:30 pm ET/1:30 pm PT: Dr. John Almarode Closing Session

Getting Them to Eat Peas When All They Want is Ice Cream: Addressing Learning Loss Behaviorally, Emotionally & Cognitively

WHO SHOULD  ATTEND

  • Classroom Teachers
  • Principals
  • Assistant Principals
  • Deans of Students
  • School Counselors
  • School Social Workers (All Levels)
  • School Psychologists
  • Special Education Personnel
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved