$25

A Matter of Scale: The Hidden Order of Networks in Space & Time - ii Salon

Actions and Detail Panel

$25

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
Fellow Interintellects Caleb Meredith and David Valerio explore the ubiquitous concept of scale in space and time

About this Event

"The concept of scale is truly universal. You, the person reading this, are a function of scale. 'You' are composed of atoms. Atoms that combine to form molecules. Molecules that combine to form cells. Cells that combine to form tissues. Tissues that combine to form organs. Organs that combine to form the body. Where do 'you' start?

Scale is relevant not only when thinking about the nature of individual human existence, but in contemplating all manner of natural phenomena. Scale, in space and time, is critical to be conscious of when exploring the emergent networks and hierarchies of natural physical and man-made complex systems alike. It determines the qualities of the observed process, and hides many things from view.

In this Interintellect Salon we will explore the concept of scale, and discuss the ranges we occupy in space from the Planck length to parsecs, and time from the Big Bang until the inevitable heat death of the universe." - Salon Hosts Caleb Meredith and David Valerio

***

Good to read or watch pre-salon:

***

Time zones:

    • 12 pm in San Francisco
    • 3 pm in New York
    • 8 pm in London
    • 9 pm in Berlin

Why not add the ii Calendar to your calendar?

***

You will be sent a Zoom link before the event, when bookings closed.

Free entry for all Interintellect Hosts (with option of being a patron - see here).

Apply for a student discount at hello@interintellect.com.

Community forum acceptance is currently referral based, but we have a public waiting list - see here.

Find our online code of conduct here.

We have many more cool Interintellect events coming up - see here.

Tags
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved