Lessons from the Past: From the Cultural Revolution to the Spring of 1989

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Event description
Tuesday, 8 October 2019 (8am San Francisco; 11am New York; 4pm London; 11pm Hong Kong; 2am Sydney the next day)

About this Event

Joel Andreas is an Associate Professor of Sociology at Johns Hopkins University, and studies political contention and social change in China. His first book, Rise of the Red Engineers: The Cultural Revolution and the Rise of China’s New Class (2009), analysed the contentious merger of old and new elites following the 1949 Revolution. His second book, Disenfranchised: The Rise and Fall of Industrial Citizenship in China (2019), traces radical changes that have fundamentally transformed industrial relations over the past seven decades. Joel’s talk will examine the role of workers in the Cultural Revolution, looking in particular at how the movement was shaped by and helped reshape industrial relations under the work unit system.

Yueran Zhang is a PhD student in sociology at UC Berkeley. He studies the relationship between mass mobilisation and economic policymaking in China between from the 1960s to the 1990s. Yueran will discuss workers' participation in the wave of pro-democracy movements in 1989 and how workers interacted with students. This discussion will also be situated within the context of societal transformations China went through before and after.

The webinars will also be livestreamed on our Facebook page.

For further information, contact events@madeinchinajournal.com.

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved