$25

Tracing the Outlines: Borders & Boundaries from Cells to Selves - ii Salon

Actions and Detail Panel

$25

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
Fellow Interintellects Taylor Pullinger and Bryan Kam explore the lines, real and imagined, that slice up the world

About this Event

"A cell is the basic unit of an organism. An organism is an individual within an environment. An individual human mind seems self-evidently separate from other humans. And national borders, though they might occasionally be disputed, seem a straightforward idea: lines across which national rules and responsibilities differ.

But cells are processes with permeable barriers, and they interact with other cells to form an organism. An organism, in turn, must take in nutrients from the environment as well as expel waste, or it will die. A human is intrinsically dependent on other humans from birth, and the modern individualist consciousness seems somehow at odds with our social nature. For much of history, the borders of countries and empires moved frequently, and sometimes even their occupants did not know which side they were on.

What defines a part in relation to the whole? How defined is the line between self and other? What can the permeability of cell membranes or ecological boundaries tell us about the permeability of concepts? Why can it feel so transgressive to cross these lines? What is a thing, and what is the relationship between thing-ness and nothingness?" - Salon Hosts Taylor Pullinger and Bryan Kam

***

Good to read or watch pre-Salon:

***

Time zones:

    • 10 am in San Francisco
    • 1 pm New York
    • 6 pm London
    • 7 pm Paris
    • 10 pm in Dubai

Why not add the ii Calendar to your calendar?

***

You will be sent a Zoom link before the event, when bookings closed.

Free entry for all Interintellect Hosts (with option of being a patron - see here).

Apply for a student discount at hello@interintellect.com.

Community forum acceptance is currently referral based, but we have a public waiting list - see here.

Find our online code of conduct here.

We have many more cool Interintellect events coming up - see here.

Tags
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved