Free

The Challenges of the Future: Robot Threats and Platform Economies

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Event description
Wednesday, 6 November 2019 (8am San Francisco; 11am New York; 4pm London; 12am Hong Kong the next day; 3am Sydney the next day)

About this Event

Julie Yujie Chen is an Assistant Professor in the Institute of Communication, Culture, Information and Technology and the Faculty of Information at the University of Toronto, Canada. She studies how culture, technologies, and the established economic structures shape the experience and perception of work in the digital economy. She is the lead author of Super-sticky WeChat and Chinese Society (2018). Julie will discuss labor issues related to China's platform economy, particularly concerning ride-hailing and food-delivery platforms.

Yu Huang is an anthropologist of China and now a Postdoctoral fellow at the Department of Sociology, The University of Hong Kong. Her research interests include industrial automation and robotisation, labour studies, vocational education, science and technology studies, and agrarian change. Yu will discuss how industrial automation and robotisation affect Chinese migrant workers employed in small and medium enterprises.

The webinars will also be livestreamed on our Facebook page.

For further information, contact events@madeinchinajournal.com.

Tags
Share with friends

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved