$25

Quantum Computing 1: History / Plank & Turing's Brainchild - ii Salon

Actions and Detail Panel

$25

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
In his series fellow Interintellect Lorenzo Evans explains quantum computing in a wider context - Part 1 looks at the historical background

About this Event

`"Nature isn't classical, dammit, and if you want to make a simulation of nature, you'd better make it quantum mechanical, and by golly it's a wonderful problem, because it doesn't look so easy." - Richard Feynman

"In 1900, Max Planck discovered quantization, thinking it a mathematical trick for getting more reasonable results in his calculations- not realizing that it was in fact a new aspect of the deepest workings of nature. 12 years later, Alan Turing was born, who, in tandem with Alonzo Church, outlined a theory of computability of calculations and functions. Decades later, the synthesis of quantization, and it's consequences, and the Church-Turing thesis on computability, by Paul Benioff, Feynman and others, would push Planck's ideas to the forefront of computing (albeit with the electron, as opposed to the photon- though light based quantum computers do exist), while integrating the ideas of Church & Turing into Physics. Join me in conversation, on the history of science, physics, computing, the workings of research, culture and war, and government, and the many factors that lead to the field we now call Quantum Computing." - Salon host Lorenzo Evans

***

Part 2: February 4

Part 3: February 18

***

Good to read pre-Salon:

***

Time zones:

    • 21 Jan, 4 pm in San Francisco
    • 21 Jan, 7 pm in New York
    • 22 Jan, 12 am in London
    • 22 Jan, 1 am in Berlin
    • 22 Jan, 11 am in Sydney

Why not add the ii Calendar to your calendar?

***

You will be sent a Zoom link before the event, when bookings close.

Free entry for all Interintellect Hosts (with option of being a patron - see here).

Apply for a student discount at hello@interintellect.com.

Community forum acceptance is currently referral based, but we have a public waiting list - see here.

Find our online code of conduct here.

We have many more cool Interintellect events coming up - see here.

***

Image source: IBM Q

Tags
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved