October 2022 IIIF Online Training (5-Day Course)

Actions Panel

October 2022 IIIF Online Training (5-Day Course)

This limited-seat 5 day course starts Oct 24 and is conducted online with video tutorials and extensive tutoring/support opportunities.

When and where

Date and time

Location

Online

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.
Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

About this event

This workshop will meet daily October 24th to October 28th for one hour starting at 17:00 SAST / 17:00 CEST / 16:00 BST / 11:00AM EDT and as such will be suitable for people in Africa, Europe, the UK and North America (East).

No prior knowledge of IIIF is required and the core sessions should be easily accessible to those with confidence using the Web. Prior knowledge of HTML and JSON syntax is useful but not required. Tutoring and support opportunities are available via Slack and one-on-one Zoom meetings. By the end of the workshop, participants will have completed a small IIIF project, which they will demo for the group at the final meeting.

Meeting schedule:

October 24th: 17:00 SAST / 17:00 CEST / 16:00 BST / 11:00AM EDT - Introduction and course overview

October 25th: 17:00 SAST / 17:00 CEST / 16:00 BST / 11:00AM EDT - Group check-in meeting

October 26th: 17:00 SAST / 17:00 CEST / 16:00 BST / 11:00AM EDT - Group check-in meeting

October 27th: 17:00 SAST / 17:00 CEST / 16:00 BST / 11:00AM EDT - Group check-in meeting

October 28th: 17:00 SAST / 17:00 CEST / 16:00 BST / 11:00AM EDT - Project demos and closing meeting

Although recordings will be made available, participants should expect to attend the Monday and Friday meetings in real-time, and may schedule additional check-in meetings as needed to discuss ideas or issues they are having with the instructor and other participants.

Requirements:

Course details:

This workshop covers:

After completing this workshop, participants will be able to:

Diversity fellowship seats:

The IIIF Consortium is committed to being accessible, inclusive, and reducing barriers for people who want to learn about the Framework. That is why we make seats available in every workshop at no cost to encourage participation from a more diverse body of community members and institutions.

If your institution does not have funding for training opportunities and you count yourself among the groups listed below, then these fellowship seats are available to you:

These tickets are first-come, first-served, and made available by the honor system; we do not require any documentation of any kind to claim these tickets. To claim a fellowship seat, register for the workshop and select the 'fellowship ticket' option.

The header image used for this event is a IIIF Image from the Smithsonian American Art Museum titled "Criccieth, N. Wales".