$240 – $2,000

Hands Up! Live ASL Practice for Library Staff (Beginner)

Actions and Detail Panel

$240 – $2,000

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refund policy

Refunds up to 7 days before event

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
Learn and practice American Sign Language for library settings in this interactive series.

About this event

Wednesdays, June 30-July 21 from 1-2:30 PM Eastern/12-1:30 PM Central/11-12:30 PM Mountain/10-11:30 AM Pacific

Online sessions via Zoom (4 weeks, 1.5 hours per week)

Learn how to improve your service to deaf and hard-of-hearing patrons in this interactive series. We'll cover basic information about American Sign Language and Deaf Culture, as well as specific vocabulary for the library setting. Each session will build on those before it to reinforce your knowledge and expand your ability to communicate with members of the Deaf community, and you’ll get plenty of interactive signing practice! Recording access will be available to those who cannot attend the sessions live. Certificate of completion available upon request with successful completion of post-test.

Pricing:

  • Individual: $240 (includes live webinar and recording access for the for the 4-week series)
  • Group rate (10 people): $2000 (includes live webinar and recording access for the for the 4-week series)

About the Instructor:

Kathy MacMillan (she/her) is a nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, instructor, consultant, writer and signing storyteller. Kathy is the author of the Little Hands Signing board book series (Familius Press) and Little Hands and Big Hands: Children and Adults Signing Together (Huron Street Press), as well as many other books for children, teens, and adults. She has worked in public libraries for over twenty years, and was the Library/Media Specialist at the Maryland School for the Deaf, Columbia Campus from 2001 to 2005. Kathy presents American Sign Language programs for families and workshops for library staff and educators. She also serves on the board of Deaf Camps, Inc., a nonprofit organization that provides camps for deaf and hard-of-hearing children and children learning American Sign Language. She lives in Baltimore, MD.

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refunds up to 7 days before event

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved