Braver Angels Depolarizing Within Communications Workshop

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Join us for a free online workshop to learn how to communicate with those who hold different views

About this Event

A surprising aspect of today’s epidemic of toxic polarization between climate advocates and climate skeptics is that much is driven by how we talk with like-minded people about those who hold other views. Too often we stereotype, dismiss, or ridicule our fellow citizens who differ from us in their perspectives on climate change. How we talk among ourselves about them fuels fires that threaten the progress of climate solutions. This workshop, presented in collaboration with Braver Angels*, will help you become more aware of your inner polarizer, help you learn to depolarize yourself and teach you skills for intervening in social conversations with like-minded people when those conversations veer into contempt and ridicule for people who hold other views.

Join us for this virtual workshop on Saturday, July 25, 9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/Noon ET, and will run 2.5 hours.

All are welcome. We will email all registered attendees days prior to the event with the video conference access information.

About Braver Angels

*Braver Angels is a national nonprofit with a mission to depolarize America (https://braverangels.org/), which is partnering with Citizens’ Climate Lobby to advance depolarization of discussions of climate change. This workshop uses the techniques of Braver Angels to depolarize discussions, enhance discovery of ‘reasonable citizens,’ accelerate the discovery of common ground, and to encourage common action.

About Citizens’ Climate Lobby (CCL)

CCL empowers everyday people to work with their community and their members of Congress on climate change solutions. Our supporters cover the political spectrum and work in more than 450 local chapters. Together, we’re building support for a national bipartisan solution to climate change.

By registering for this event, you are giving Citizens' Climate Lobby and Citizens' Climate Education permission to send you emails including information about CCL/CCE and how you can volunteer and support our work. You can unsubscribe at any time by emailing unsubscribe@citizensclimatelobby.org.

Privacy Policy

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved