Skip Main Navigation

How to cancel or delete a free order

Antwonne

Updated by Antwonne D. on 09/12/2016

Category: Managing Orders

You can easily cancel free orders for your event from the Orders section of your event's Manage page. Simply search for your attendee's order and from the top Actions drop-down menu, select Cancel this Order or Delete this Order.

TIP: eblink{Learn how to refund paid orders=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=3399} (completed by card or offline payment method—pay by check, pay by invoice, or cash at the door).

PRO TIP: If you registered for an event and would like to cancel your registration, go eblink{here=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=3207} for more information.

NOTE: There currently isn't a way to bulk cancel or delete free orders. If you plan to cancel your event, take a look eblink{here=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articles/en_US/How_To/how-to-cancel-or-delete-a-free-order?lg=en_US#5}.

1. Go to your Manage page.

Manage Events is the third option in the account menu, and the Manage link is located under your event's name.
Manage Events is the third option in the account menu, and the Manage link is located under your event's name.

After eblink{logging in=>https://eventbrite.com/login target=_blank} and eblink{creating an event=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=5035}, find your event on the Manage Events page, then select Manage.

2. Go to "Orders" (under Manage Attendees).

Manage Attendees is the sixth section in the Options Menu, and the Orders link is first in this section.
Manage Attendees is the sixth section in the Options Menu, and the Orders link is first in this section.

From the options menu, scroll to the bottom until you see the Manage Attendees section.

NOTE: If you don't see the option to manage attendees and are a subuser of an account, contact the main account holder who granted you permissions to their event(s). They may need to update your permissions so you can manage orders and attendees.

3. Optional: Cancel or Delete the free order.

The top Actions menu is located to the right of the order-level information. Cancel this Order is the second actionable option in the drop-down menu, and is the start of the order cancellation process.
The top Actions menu is located to the right of the order-level information. Cancel this Order is the second actionable option in the drop-down menu, and is the start of the order cancellation process.

Select "Cancel this order" or "Delete this order" from the top Actions drop-down menu. When asked to confirm the action, click "Yes." The only difference between canceling and deleting an order is an email is sent if you choose to cancel an order. No email will be sent if you choose to delete an order.

PRO TIP: The email sent to attendees when you cancel an order can't be customized. If you have a specific message for an attendee regarding their order, eblink{email the attendee=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=3327} before you cancel their registration.

NOTE: Once an order has been canceled or deleted, the name(s) of the attendee(s) won't show up in your eblink{reporting=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=3505} or the eblink{attendee list=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=3392}. To view a canceled or deleted order, select All Orders from the Order Type dropdown menu when viewing an eblink{Orders report=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=6549}.

4. Optional: Cancel or Delete just one attendee in an order that includes other attendees.

The Actions menu is located to the right of the attendee-level information. Delete this Order is the third actionable option in the drop-down menu, and is the start of the attendee deletion process.
The Actions menu is located to the right of the attendee-level information. Delete this Order is the third actionable option in the drop-down menu, and is the start of the attendee deletion process.

Select "Cancel this Attendee" or "Delete this Attendee" from the Actions drop-down menu next to the attendee's name. When asked to confirm the action, click "Yes." Unlike canceling or deleting an entire order, there's no difference between deleting or canceling an individual attendee. The attendee will not receive an email.

NOTE: The ability to cancel or delete one attendee out of others registered on a single order is only available if you collected information from "eblink{Each Attendee=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=3262}." If an event collects "Basic Information" or "Buyer Only" information, choosing "Cancel this Attendee" or "Delete this Attendee" on any completed orders will cancel the entire order. If you change to collect information from "Each Attendee," the option to cancel or delete one of many is only available for orders going forward.

5. Optional: Cancel event.

The Unpublish and Cancel links appear above your Event Dashboard, by the "Find Attendees" text field.
The Unpublish and Cancel links appear above your Event Dashboard, by the "Find Attendees" text field.

If you'd like to eblink{cancel your event=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=5217}, be sure to eblink{email your attendees=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=3327} so they know why the event is no longer taking place and cancel or delete all free orders. Then, click eblink{unpublish=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=3480} or eblink{cancel=>https://www.eventbrite.com/support/articleredirect?anum=5217} on the Manage page.

NOTE: The "Unpublish" and "Cancel" options will show even if you have orders completed to your event. You'll only be able to unpublish or cancel when all orders are removed.

Related articles

Still have questions? Our team can help. Contact us.