Skip Main Navigation
Page Content

The Gamma Eta Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

The Gamma Eta Lambda Chapter, originally chartered on September 14, 1945 during the “Education and War” years, upholds the objectives established by the Fraternity: to stimulate the ambition of its members; to prepare them for the greatest usefulness in the causes of humanity, freedom, and dignity of the individual; to encourage the highest and noblest form of manhood; and to aid down-trodden humanity in its efforts to achieve higher social, economic, and intellectual status.
The chapter  was founded by fourteen distinguished men: H. DeGasse Ashbury, Jerry B. Bell, B.E. Conner, James Dixon, Charles “Papa” Hines, Clifford Paul “C.P.” Johnson, William H. Jones, John Q. Taylor King, Sr., M. Lee, L.M. Mitchell, Kelly Meador, Arthur L. Royster, Alonzo Russell, and C.R. Stewart.
The Gamma Eta Lambda Chapter serves the Greater Austin area and surrounding communities with the support of local undergraduate chapters (Delta Chapter, Huston-Tillotson University; Epsilon Iota Chapter, University of Texas at Austin; and the Mu Nu Chapter, Texas State University-San Marcos) and partners with community stakeholders to advance the citizens in these communities.

The Gamma Eta Lambda Chapter, in conjunction with the Austin Alpha Foundation, formed in 1983 as a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, has also recognized the need to help correct the educational, economic, political, and social injustices faced by African-Americans throughout the Austin communities. Locally, the Austin Alphas have provided scholarships to high school seniors, facilitated the Back to School Parade and provided classroom supplies for all students in attendance, hosted Black Family Technology Day, partnered with Big Brothers Big Sisters, and participated in Relay for Life and March of Dimes.

Save This Event

Event Saved