Skip Main Navigation
Page Content

Northwest Arkansas Regional Planning Commission

As the Metropolitan Planning Organization, the NWARPC provides the framework for joint cooperation and decision-making in the planning and prioritization of transporta­tion system improvements. A Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), consisting princi­pally of professionals associated with various aspects of transportation, is charged with developing the technical aspects of plans and reports, and makes recommendations to the NWARPC/Policy Committee. All planning is carried out through the 3C approach – Cooperative, Continuing, and Comprehensive – with planning partners ARDOT, MODOT, and other public transportation providers.

The Northwest Arkansas Regional Planning Commission (NWARPC) was formed in 1966 through a cooperative agreement between Benton County, Washington County, and the cities of Benton­ville, Fayetteville, Rogers, Siloam Springs, and Springdale. In 1983, NWARPC was designated as the Metropolitan Planning Organi­zation (MPO) under U.S. DOT regulations for transportation planning purposes. The MPO is designated by the Governors of Arkansas and Missouri to conduct the federally mandated 3C (Comprehensive, Continuing and Cooperative) planning process necessary for transportation projects to qualify for federal transportation funds.

Transportation Management Area (TMA) status was recog­nized after 2010 Census Bureau data indicated the Fayetteville- Springdale-Rogers, AR-MO Urbanized Area (UZA) had grown from 172,585 in 2000 to 295,083 in 2010. The 200,000 popula­tion mark is the threshold for an area to become a TMA. With the new UZA boundary extending into Missouri, the Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA) for trans­portation planning now extends into McDonald County, Missouri. Today, NWARPC’s membership includes 35 units of govern­ment in Benton, Madison, and Washington Counties, Arkansas; McDonald County and Pineville, Missouri; the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD); the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT); transit agencies; and Beaver Water District.

Save This Event

Event Saved