Sales Have Ended
Sales Have Ended
The Emergency Medical Technician (EMT Basic) course is a 266 hour classroom and field based emergency medical program. This level of education is the minimum requirement to staff and operate an emergency response vehicle (an ambulance) in the State of Michigan.
This course is approved by the Michigan Department of Health & Human Services Division of EMS. Upon successful completion, students are eligible to take the National Registry Certification test as required by the State of Michigan for licensure.
This course prepares students to enter into handle entry level emergency response positions and is typically employed by private ambulance services, fire departments and as hospital Emergency room technicians.
The EMT Basic course curriculum prepares the student to perform a variety of medical techniques including but not limited to:
- Basic airway control and oxygen delivery
- Increased understanding of anatomy and physiology
- CPR and defibrillation
- Emergency field childbirth
- Lifting and moving patients
- More definitive patient assessment
- Assisting with such medications such as epinephrine auto injector, nitroglycerine and emergency breathing treatments
- Patient extrication, immobilization and transport
- Triaging and handling multiple trauma victims
- Dealing with more complex medical and traumatic life-threatening illness and/or injuries
- Pediatric assessment and field treatment
- Assisting EMTS and Paramedics with more advanced care
Students will be evaluated in the following core competency areas: didactic, practical, clinical and internship performance. In addition, students achieving an 80% or higher and passing the course final computer based test, will receive a certificate of completion and be eligible for National Registry testing and State licensure. Practical skills are graded on a pass/fail basis and students will be required to pass all practical examinations to successfully complete the program. All clinical and internship rotations are graded on attendance, attitude and skills performance, which are evaluated by field mentors, a clinical coordinator and/or the course instructor.
COURSE DATES: 1/4/17 to 4/19/17; M/W from 6:00pm to 10:30pm, along with specified Saturday sessions; Saturday sessions will meet from 8:00am to 5:00pm (1/21/17, 2/18/17, 3/11/17, 3/25/17, 4/1/17, and 4/15/17)
TOTAL TUITION = $1,200.00 with discounts available to past HVA Students, currently enrolled college students, and firefighters in the HVA Service Area. (PLEASE NOTE: Tuition does NOT include any of the following: Student uniforms, textbooks, other supplies such as BP cuff, stethoscope, etc. or the mandatory drug screen or background check. Further information below regarding these additional costs, approx. $600)
The following are the guidelines for the discounted tuition rates:
STUDENT AND FIREFIGHTER DISCOUNTS
To qualify for the Student Discount, you must submit proof you are currently enrolled in and attending another college or university in the HVA Service Area. You MUST submit a copy of your current course schedule AND a copy of your student ID in order for the discount to be placed on your account. These items MUST be received PRIOR to the first day of class. Tuition rates CAN NOT and WILL NOT be adjusted on or after the first class period. Copies of course schedules and ID's should be faxed to Kristen Collins at 734/477-6927 or sent via PDF to firstname.lastname@example.org. AGAIN, THESE MUST BE RECEIVED PRIOR TO THE FIRST DAY OF CLASS OR THE DISCOUNT WILL NOT BE ISSUED. To obtain the Student Discount Rate, you must enter the discount code "STUDENT2017"when you register. If qualifying documents are not provided, students will have a "balance due" on their account which must be paid on the first day of class.
To qualify for the Firefighter Discount, you must be an active member of a fire department in the HVA Service Area. You must submit a letter from your fire chief stating that you are a member, in good standing, with the department. The letter MUST be on department letterhead and must be signed by the fire chief. This letter MUST be received PRIOR to the first day of class. Tuition rates CAN NOT and WILL NOT be adjusted on or after the first class period. The letter should be faxed to Kristen Collins at 734/477-6927 or sent via PDF to email@example.com. AGAIN, THIS MUST BE RECEIVED PRIOR TO THE FIRST DAY OF CLASS OR THE DISCOUNT WILL NOT BE ISSUED. To obtain the Firefighter Discount Rate, you must enter the discount code "FIRE2017"when you register. If qualifying documents are not provided, students will have a "balance due" on their account which must be paid on the first day of class.
TUITION & FEES
All tuition and fees are due upon registration. All registrations are first come, first enrolled! Students who do not have a credit card to complete the registration process online, must register for class and make payment in person at HVA’s EMS Education, 1200 State Circle, Ann Arbor, MI. The deadline to register for any program is TWO WEEKS prior to class, no exceptions, providing spaces are available!
NOTE: HVA’S EMS Education retains the right to deny any application, for any reason. If the school denies the application of a student before the first day of class, all tuition and fees paid will be refunded. There are NO REFUNDS for course supplies, including textbooks, uniforms, required equipment, or costs incurred for background checks and drug screens.
ALL TUITION FEES paid by the applicant shall be refunded if requested in writing within three (3) business days after registering for any HVA sponsored course.
Otherwise, if a student withdraws or is dismissed from the program for any reason AFTER the 3 business days following registration, they will be responsible for payment according to the following schedule:
- Students who withdraw two weeks prior to the start of class/module for any EMS course will receive a full refund of the course tuition, less a $25 administration fee. The student must notify HVA EMS Education department in writing.
- Students who fail to give at least two weeks notice (in writing), or who fail to withdraw prior to the start of the (2nd) second week of class, will forfeit 25% of the total course tuition.
- After the start of any EMS course, any student who fails to withdraw prior to the start of the (3rd) third week of class, will forfeit 100% of the total course tuition.
All refunds are returned within 30 days.
HVA's EMS Education is approved for VA Eligible students. For more information on the guidelines for using your Post 911 or Montgomery GI benefits, and how to register for courses as a VA student, please contact the school at 734/477-6331 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
TEXTBOOKS/UNIFORMS/OTHER SUPPLIES/STUDENT WELCOME PACKET
Tuition DOES NOT include textbooks, student uniforms, or other required supplies. These items are purchased separately.
TEXTBOOKS should be purchased directly from the Jones & Bartlett Learning website, using the link below. In the "Promotion Code" area, please use code HVJ52 to receive 25% off your materials!!!
CLICK the following link to add the listed items to your shopping cart:
EMT 11th Edition Premier Package with Navigate 2 (print textbook, Navigate 2 Course Manager, Navigate Test Prep, EMT Interactive Lectures, Virtual Ride-Alongs, Virtual Simulations, Fisdap Scheduler, and Fisdap Tracker)
BE SURE TO ADD THE PROMOTION CODE AND THEN PROCEED TO CHECKOUT!
For further information on student UNIFORMS and OTHER REQUIRED SUPPLIES for the course, please refer to the STUDENT WELCOME PACKET which will be emailed out to you shortly after your registration is received and processed. This email will be sent directly to the email address you provide at the time of registration so please be sure to use a valid email that you check on a regular basis!
*Textbooks, uniforms, supplies along with the mandatory drug screen and background check total approx. $600