Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Save This Event

Event Saved

SunniPath: The Online Islamic Academy

Where Is God in Haiti?

Qibla

Saturday, February 13, 2010 at 4:00 PM (WET)

Ticket Information

Ticket Type Remaining Sales End Quantity
Free Registration Sold Out Ended Free  
Donation (optional) Sold Out Ended

Share Where Is God in Haiti?

Event Details

 

Where Is God in Haiti?

 

Where Is God in Haiti?

Lecture and Q&A Session with Sheikh Nuh Keller

 

“Allah suffices us, and is the best to rely on.” (Qur’an 3:173)

 

The recent earthquake in Haiti has destroyed homes, damaged infrastructure, and the Haitian government has now confirmed a death toll of 170,000 and estimated over 300,000 injured.  To add to the disaster, the rescue and relief efforts are severely limited by a shortage of resources.

 

In light of such large-scale destruction, many are left asking how this could happen and are now searching for answers.  Where is the Divine Mercy in all of this?  Where is justice? Where is the Divine Wisdom? Many atheists are now using this as another example that God does not exist.   Sheikh Nuh Keller will offer a reply.

 

Event timing

This event will be on Saturday, February 13th, at 4:00pm GMT. 


Directly below is a list of the starting time in different time zones throughout the world:

8:00am PST - LA, San Francisco, Seattle, Phoenix, Vancouver (-8)

9:00am MST - Denver, Salt Lake City, Edmonton (-7)

10:00am CST - Chicago, St. Louis, Dallas, Houston, Minneapolis (-6)

11:00am EST - NYC, Philadelphia, D.C., Atlanta, Miami, Toronto (-5)

4:00pm - Casablanca, London, Dublin

5:00pm - Oslo, Copenhagen, Brussels (+1)

6:00pm - Amman, Istanbul, Jerusalem, Cairo, Johannesburg (+2)

7:00pm - Mecca, Medina, Baghdad, Doha, Moscow (+3)

8:00pm - Abu Dhabi, Dubai (+4)

9:00pm - Karachi, Lahore (+5)

9:30pm - Bangalore, Mumbai, New Delhi (+5.5)

11:00pm - Jakarta (+7)

12:00am (Sunday) - Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur (+8)

1:00am (Sunday) - Tokyo (+9)

3:00am (Sunday) - Sydney, Melbourne (+11)

 

About Sheikh Nuh Keller

Sheikh Nuh Keller is an American-Muslim master of Islamic spirituality, specialist in Islamic Law, and translator. Born in 1954 in the north-western United States, he was educated in philosophy and Arabic at the University of Chicago and UCLA. He became Muslim in 1977 at al-Azhar in Cairo, and later studied the traditional Islamic Sciences of spirituality, hadith, Shafi'i and Hanafi jurisprudence, legal methodology (usul al-fiqh), and tenets of faith (`aqidah) in Syria and Jordan, where he has lived since 1980.

His English translation of `Umdat al-Salik, or The Reliance of the Traveler [Sunna Books, 1991] is the first Islamic legal work in a European language to receive the certification of al-Azhar, the Muslim world's oldest institution of higher learning. He also possesses ijazas or "certificates of authorization" in Islamic jurisprudence and spirituality from sheikhs in Syria and Jordan.

Sheikh Nuh's other translations and works include: Al-Maqasid: Imam Nawawi's Manual of Islam; The Sunni Path: A Handbook of Islamic Belief; and the Tariqa Notes, a handbook for those on the Shadhili path of tasawwuf. He is currently translating Imam Nawawi's Kitab al-Adhkar, or The Book of Remembrance of Allah, a compendium of some 1227 hadiths on prayers and dhikrs of the prophetic sunna. He currently resides with his wife in Amman, Jordan.

 

 

Have questions about Where Is God in Haiti?? Contact Qibla

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.