Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Save This Event

Event Saved

Webinar: Generation to Generation: Empowering Newcomer Youth and Families

Cities of Migration

Webinar: Generation to Generation: Empowering Newcomer...

Registration Information

Type Quantity
Note timezone: October 30 (North America), October 31 (New Zealand/Australia) Free  

Share Webinar: Generation to Generation: Empowering Newcomer Youth and Families

Event Details

Cities of Migration Learning Exchange series

Generation to Generation: Empowering Newcomer Youth and Families

When (check your timezone):

October 30 in North America 
2:00 pm PDT Vancouver, San Francisco
3:00 pm MDT Edmonton, Denver
5:00 pm EDT Toronto, New York

October 31 in New Zealand, Australia
8:00 am AEDT Melbourne, Sydney
10:00 am NZDT Auckland, Wellington

Join Cities of Migration for a webinar to learn about award-winning programs from Wellington, New Zealand and Toronto, Canada that improve language and digital literacy for immigrant families and youth by removing barriers to technology, promoting inter-generational tutoring, and strengthening community relations through education.

Featured Good Ideas

  • In Wellington, New Zealand, Computers in Homes (CIH) adapted a program that provides low income families with computers and training and modified it to cater specifically to refugee families and their unique needs. CIH recognized an opportunity to make Internet access and basic computer technology a passport to improved integration outcomes for immigrant children and their parents.
  • In Toronto, Canada, Youth Empowering Parents (YEP) is an innovative, award-winning program that equips newcomer youth to teach newcomer adults English and computer skills. Rather than a traditional classroom with an instructor, YEP trains youth with the skills to act as effective volunteer tutors for adults in their community.

Speakers

  • Di Daniels, National Coordinator Computers in Homes (Wellington, New Zealand)
  • Agazi Afewerki, Executive Director, Youth Empowering Parents (Toronto, Canada)


Technical Requirements: No cost to participate. You will need a computer with internet access and speakers.  Pre-test System Requirements.  Adobe Connect requires the Flash Player plugin, download version 11.9 or above to run. 

Have questions about Webinar: Generation to Generation: Empowering Newcomer Youth and Families? Contact Cities of Migration

Organiser

Cities of Migration

Cities of Migration showcases good ideas in immigrant integration and promotes innovative practices that create inclusion and urban prosperity. A project of Ryerson International and the Global Diversity Exchange (GDX) at  Ryerson University.
www.citiesofmigration.ca

  Contact the Organiser

Interested in hosting your own event?

Join millions of people on Eventbrite.

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.