Free

Webinar: Building Inclusive Cities: What is a Welcoming Standard?

Event Information

Event description

Description

Webinar: Building Inclusive Cities: What is a Welcoming Standard?

October 30 (in North America)
4:00 pm PDT Vancouver, San Francisco
5:00 pm MDT Calgary, Denver
7:00 pm EDT Toronto, New York

October 31 (in Australia, New Zealand)

9:00 am AEST Brisbane
10:00 am AEDT Melbourne, Sydney
12:00 pm NZST Auckland

Advancing the art of welcome: the Australian Standard for Welcoming Cities is a new framework for helping local councils benchmark their cultural diversity and inclusion policies and practices, identify gaps, set goals and assess their progress over time. Looking to the future, the Standard challenges city and community leaders to work collaboratively towards a shared vision of a welcoming and inclusive nation.

What if? asks Aleem Ali, Welcoming Cities: “What if we dared to consider how we might advance both the hand and art of welcome? What if we created a network of cities, shires, towns, and municipalities who were committed to creating welcoming communities and sharing knowledge, developing partnerships, and celebrating success? What if we did more than communicate, but also committed to, planned for, built and sustained welcome? ”

Launched in March 2016, Welcoming Cities facilitates a growing national network of inclusive, vibrant communities in Australia, and internationally, that supports local government leaders and communities to be more effective, open and resilient. The Australian Standard adapts elements of the U.S. Welcoming Standard, as does the pilot New Zealand Welcoming Standard. In Canada, the Welcoming and Inclusive Communities initiative at the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association builds on the seminal work of the Canadian Coalition of Municipalities Against Racism and Discrimination (CCMARD). Efforts to crack the code for welcoming communities demand our attention.

Join us online to explore the Australian Standard for Welcoming Cities with Aleem Ali, Welcoming Cities (Brisbane, Australia), in conversation with Darren Reedy, Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (Edmonton, Canada). Learn more about the change-making work behind Welcoming Cities, the design and implementation of welcoming benchmarks, and the strategic engagement of city and community leaders in the Standard's bid to ensure that immigrants thrive in the social, economic and civic life of their cities.

Technical Requirements: No cost to participate. You will need a computer with internet access and speakers. Pre-test System Requirements. Adobe Connect requires the Flash Player plugin, download version 13.0 or above to run.


Share with friends

Save This Event

Event Saved