$5

WCS & YPE: Earth Day & Carbon Removal Virtual Happy Hour

Actions and Detail Panel

$5

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
Join WCS and YPE for a Virtual Happy Hour in honor of Earth Day, with the main focus on carbon utilization!

About this Event

Member Notes:

  • This event is complimentary for all WCS and YPE members
  • Look for the promo code in your WCS Members' list email or YPE newsletter
  • Refer to the membership options here
  • Become a WCS Member here
  • Become a YPE-NYC Member here
  • Become a YPE-SF Bay Area Member here

Please join Women in Cleantech & Sustainability and Young Professionals in Energy (both NYC and San Francisco chapters) for a Virtual Happy Hour in honor of Earth Day! The theme of this year's Earth Day is “Restore our Planet.” In this networking event, we will talk about technologies that are restorative to the planet, with a focus on carbon removal. The event will be moderated by WCS Founder Lisa Ann Pinkerton, and will include a short presentation from CCUS expert Heidi Lim, Chief of Staff at Opus 12, followed by two guided breakout room discussions.

To get ideas about restorative actions you can personally take, check out the Earth Day Website . To learn more about carbon capture, utilization, and sequestration, and why it’s so crucial to restoring our planet, check out this IEA Primer, this Bloomberg Article, or this piece by our speaker Heidi Lim. Please join WCS and YPE for what is sure to be an exciting exchange between professionals and enthusiasts in the cleantech space!

Breakout Room Discussion Questions:

Where do you see the most need for restoration? Are there any technologies that have you particularly excited?

What challenges might there be to the development & implementation of carbon restorative technologies? What policy and funding will be required to meet current goals?

Event Agenda

5:00-5:10 pm PST / 8:00 - 8:10 pm EST - Arrival, Housekeeping, & Introductions (including intros by YPE-NYC, YPE-SF, and WCS)

5:10-5:25 pm PST / 8:10 - 8:25 pm EST - Carbon Utilization (CCUS) Presentation by Heidi Lim, Chief of Staff at Opus 12

5:25-5:40 pm PST / 8:25-8:40 pm EST - Breakout Session 1

5:40-5:45 pm PST / 8:40-8:45 pm EST Regroup & Reshuffle Breakout Rooms

5:45-6:00 pm PST / 8:45-9:00 pm EST - Breakout Session 2

6:00-6:15 pm PST / 9:00-9:15 pm EST Thank you and wrap-up

About the Co-Host

Young Professionals in Energy NYC is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization that facilitates the advancement of young professionals in the energy industry through social, educational, and civic service-oriented events. YPE-NYC and YPE-SF Bay Area are local chapters of the global organization, which includes over 40,000 members across 40 chapters (with NYC and SF-Bay Area being two of the largest chapters). Both groups facilitate the advancement of young professionals in the energy sector by providing opportunities for professional networking and knowledge sharing. YPE empowers its members to be leaders in their communities and the global energy industry through various event-oriented initiatives.

Join YPE NYC for free by visiting https://www.ypenyc.org/ or follow their accounts: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn

Join YPE SF-Bay Area for free by visiting https://www.ypesfbayarea.org/ or follow our accounts: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn

This event is limited to 500 attendees and is open to people of all genders. Refunds provided up to 24 hours in advance.


		WCS & YPE: Earth Day & Carbon Removal Virtual Happy Hour image

Heidi Lim

Speaker

Chief of Staff at the Opus 12

Heidi Lim is the Chief of Staff at Opus 12, a Berkeley-based start-up that has developed an electrochemical technology to transform CO2 into valuable chemicals, materials, and fuels. She is responsible for commercializing Opus 12 technology and developing business strategy. Her professional career has spanned carbon removal, agriculture, product management, and enterprise software. She is personally interested in environmental justice and plant-based meat, and is committed to increasing climate literacy and shifting the global workforce into impact work.

Lim is based in San Francisco and holds a degree from Harvard in environmental engineering, with a minor in environmental public policy.


		WCS & YPE: Earth Day & Carbon Removal Virtual Happy Hour image

Lisa Ann Pinkerton

Moderator

Founder & President at Technica Communications & Founder of Women In Cleantech & Sustainability

Lisa Ann Pinkerton is founder of Women In Cleantech & Sustainability, a San Francisco Bay Area group dedicated to the advancement of women in various environmental and technology sectors. She is also Founder and President of Technica Communications, where she handles marketing, social media, content production and public relations for cleantech and biotech startups. Additionally, Lisa Ann is Co-Founder and Marketing Chair for the Global Cleantech Cluster Association, an international speaker and moderator and documentary filmmaker. Lisa Ann is a former award-winning broadcast journalist who reported for National Public Radio, PBS Television, WPXI-NBC, American Public Media, and Free Speech TV.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved