The SHAPE OF BLACKNESS: Opening Artist Talks

The SHAPE OF BLACKNESS: Opening Artist Talks

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended
Sales Ended

    Location

    Online event

    JOIN US on Thurs 25 March to meet participating artists in this unique int'l virtual exhibition! Two sessions to accommodate time zones!

    About this event

    THE SHAPE OF BLACKNESS highlights expressions of contemporary Blackness as envisioned by South African and U.S. artists.

    Exhibition artists include Theko Boshomane, Tshepiso Moropa, Lebohang Motaung, Lebo Thoka, and Helena Uambembe from South Africa; and Aaron Beitia, Courageous, Nicole Dixon, Michon Sanders, Brette Sims, and Abba Yahudah from the United States.

    The Opening Artist Talks will be moderated by SHAPE's producers and curators, Cedric Brown, Trevor Parham, and Odysseus Shirindza. The event is hosted by Oakstop, a workspace enterprise and gallery for creative entrepreneurship located in Oakland, California, USA.

    SESSIONS

    ADVANCE REGISTRATION HAS ENDED; CLICK ON ONE OF THE LINKS BELOW TO JOIN YOUR PREFERRED SESSION.

    We're offering two sessions to accommodate for the morning to evening time zone difference between South Africa and the USA:

    SESSION ONE: Thursday, March 25th, 7pm South Africa / 1pm US Eastern / 10am US Pacific

    >>CLICK HERE TO JOIN SESSION ONE<<

    SESSION TWO: Thursday, March 25th, 9pm South Africa / 3pm US Eastern / Noon US Pacific

    >>CLICK HERE TO JOIN SESSION TWO<<

    ABOUT

    In choosing these two nations, we seek perspectives from the global north and south, Black majority and Black minority nations. SHAPE is inspired by the Rorschact inkblot, which even in its most mundane form, is a useful framing device for a group show. It conveys both symmetry and individual interpretation of an entire picture: “when you look at contemporary Blackness, what do you see?”

    SHAPE is supported by a grant from the Atlantic Fellows for Racial Equity.

    The SHAPE OF BLACKNESS: Opening Artist Talks image

    Save This Event

    Event Saved