Free

The Predicament of the Present: Resurgent Authoritarianism

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Event description
Friday, 29 October 2019 (9am San Francisco, 12pm New York City, 4pm London, 12am Hong Kong, 3am Sydney the next day)

About this Event

Chloé Froissart is an Associate Professor in political science at the Department of Chinese Studies, University of Rennes 2, and an associate researcher at the French Centre for Research on Contemporary China in Hong Kong. She was Director of Tsinghua University Sino-French Centre in Social Sciences in Beijing from 2014 to 2018. Her research interests include citizenship studies, civil society with a focus on labour and environmental politics, labour movement, and trade union reform in China. She is the author of La Chine et ses migrants. La conquête d’une citoyenneté (2013). Chloé will discuss the rise and fall of labour NGOs in the Pearl River Delta and their changing strategies to defend migrant workers’ rights.

Tim Pringle is a Senior Lecturer in Labour, Social Movements and Development at SOAS University of London and Editor of The China Quarterly. He has been an activist trade unionist since starting work and is currently a union rep for the University and College Union at SOAS. His research focuses on labour movements, industrial relations, and trade union reform in China, Russia, and Vietnam. Tim is the author of Trade Unions in China: The Challenge of Labour Unrest (2011) and co-author of The Challenge of Transition: Trade Unions in Russia, China and Vietnam (2011). Tim will discuss labour activism in China through the lens of changing state-society relations.

The webinars will also be livestreamed on our Facebook page.

For further information, contact events@madeinchinajournal.com.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved