Sales Ended

The Place of the October Revolution in History and Contemporary Politics

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Event description

Description

The International Committee of the Fourth International is commemorating the centenary of the 1917 October Revolution with a series of online lectures. David North, chairman of the International Editorial Board of the World Socialist Web Site, will deliver the concluding lecture in the series, "The Place of the October Revolution in World History and Contemporary Politics."

The lecture will be streamed live on YouTube and Facebook on November 11 at 1:00 pm EST (6:00pm in London, 7:00pm in Berlin, 9:00pm in Moscow and 5:00 am Sunday in Sydney. Full Time Zone Conversions).

In the aftermath of the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991, there emerged a new consensus among bourgeois academics that the Russian Revolution was little more than a political accident, an illegitimate and even criminal departure from the “normal” – i.e., capitalist – course of historical development. The monumental international political impact of the October Revolution and immense economic, social and cultural achievements of the Soviet Union were ignored and dismissed.

And yet, despite these claims, the October Revolution will live in history as the most significant political event of the twentieth century. The study of this revolution is an essential prerequisite for finding an answer to the worldwide crisis of the twenty-first century.

About the lecturer: David North is chairman of the WSWS International Editorial Board. He has been a leader of the socialist movement for four decades. He is an expert on the history of the Russian Revolution and the author of numerous works, including In Defense of Leon Trotsky and The Russian Revolution and the Unfinished 20th Century.

The first eight lectures in the series are available at wsws.org/1917


Share with friends

Date and Time

Save This Event

Event Saved