Free

The Age of Pandemics | Lecture & Tutorial

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Science Gallery Bengaluru is organising CONTAGION, an online exhibition that explores the transmission of emotions, behaviours and diseases.

About this Event

The Age of Pandemics, 1817-1920: How They Shaped India and the World

Chinmay Tumbe

Professor of Economics

Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad

Saturday, 05 June 2021

06:30 PM IST | 02:00 PM BST | 09:00 AM EDT | 03:00 PM CET

Between 1817 and 1920, over 70 million people died in the cholera, plague and influenza pandemics. Over half of these deaths were in the Indian subcontinent alone. Despite the magnitude of lives lost to these devastating diseases, they have largely been forgotten in our collective memory. Looking back at these pandemics is not only an exercise that helps gain insight into humanity’s encounters with infectious diseases, but is also crucial in light of Covid-19 and the looming possibility of future outbreaks.

Based on Professor Chinmay Tumbe’s recent book, this talk points out the significance of past pandemics and how they can be seen in the time of Covid-19.

About the Expert

Professor Chinmay Tumbe is a faculty member in the Economics Area of the Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad. He is the author of India Moving: A History of Migration (2018) and The Age of Pandemics, 1817-1920: How they Shaped India and the World (2020).

CONTAGION'S PUBLIC LECTURE AND TUTORIAL SERIES:

As a part of our public programming, we will invite experts and early-career researchers from various disciplines such as epidemiology, infectious diseases research, and history, among others. They will talk about cutting-edge research, historical responses to contagion, and pressing issues in today's world, to give the audience insights into how contagion is studied, mapped, and understood in a host of ways. The lectures will be followed by tutorials for a small group of young adults, who will have the chance to interact closely with the expert on their field of expertise.

Know more about CONTAGION here.

Sign-up for updates about CONTAGION here.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved