Free

Talking Politics: Anthropologists and Linguists Analyze the 2020 Election

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Join language and politics experts across the United States as they discuss the 2020 election in this online forum

About this Event

**Click "Select A Time" and register for the Dec. 11 Final Colloquium to register and receive news for all speaker events. All events will be using the SAME Zoom webinar link.**

How is the 2020 U.S. Presidential Election affected by language and culture? Experience and learn how anthropologists and linguists decipher political messages, and examine the words, gestures, tone of voice, and unspoken meanings that implicitly affect who we vote for, and why.

Talking Politics brings together anthropology and linguistics experts to share their distinctive analytic perspectives on political communication in the 2020 U.S. Presidential Election. Organized by graduate students in the University of Chicago Department of Anthropology and University of Colorado Boulder Program in Culture, Language, and Social Practice (CLASP), this interdisciplinary workshop series invites the public to experience and learn how language and culture shape real-world political communication.

This online forum features a series of webinars and a closing colloquium. Each Talking Politics webinar will feature demonstrations of the types of data and methods of analysis that anthropologists and linguists use in studying political communication. Each featured scholar will also engage in a conversation with invited guest discussants and members of the public. The series will conclude in December with a final colloquium featuring all the series’ speakers, moderated by Kira Hall, Professor of Linguistics and Anthropology at University of Colorado Boulder and President of the Society for Linguistic Anthropology.

All events are online, and are free and open to the public. Register now to receive updates and news on all upcoming webinars, as well as more information on invited speakers. All presentations will be recorded and made available after each webinar.

Persons with disabilities who require an accommodation in order to fully participate in this event should contact Velda Khoo at velda.khoo@colorado.edu

**Please note that times are listed for all U.S. time zones**

"How Plausible is the Deniability?"| 9 Oct 2020, 7pm EST/6pm CST/5pm MST/ 4pm PT

  • Adam Hodges, Adjunct Assistant Professor at the Department of Linguistics at University of Colorado Boulder. He is a sociocultural linguist with research interests in how language impacts contemporary social and political issues, such as the collective enactment of racism or the role language plays in politics.

"Political Gesture in Presidential Debate" | 20 Oct 2020, 4pm EST/3pm CST/2pm MST/ 1pm PT

  • Michael Lempert, Associate Professor of Anthropology at University of Michigan Ann Arbor. A linguistic anthropologist with cross-disciplinary interests, he has trained in several fields and written on a wide range of topics having to do with social interaction, featuring political gesture and embodied communication.

"Communicating Crisis: Getting Back to Whose Normal?" | 30 Oct 2020, 6pm EST/5pm CST/4pm MST/ 3pm PT

  • Jonathan Rosa, Associate Professor at the Stanford Graduate School of Education. As a sociocultural and linguistic anthropologist, Jonathan Rosa's research theorizes the co-naturalization of language and race as a key feature of modern governance.

"Race and Gender Panics in the 2020 Trump Campaign" | 16 Nov 2020, 6pm EST/5pm CST/4pm MST/ 3pm PT

  • Janet McIntosh, Professor of Anthropology at Brandeis University. She is a cultural anthropologist with wide-ranging interests, including linguistic anthropology, narrative and discourse, whiteness studies, nationalism, and East Africa.
  • Norma Mendoza-Denton, Professor of Anthropology at University of California at Los Angeles. Her research focuses on youth, language, migration, politics, and identity.

Final Colloquium | 11 Dec 2020, 6pm EST/5pm CST/4pm MST/ 3pm PT

  • All invited speakers, moderated by Kira Hall, Professor of Linguistics and Anthropology at University of Colorado Boulder. Kira Hall’s research focuses on language and social identity in India and the United States, particularly with respect to hierarchies of gender, sexuality, and socioeconomic class. Her recent work has turned to diverse topics, including the role of gesture in Donald Trump’s entertainment appeal.

Talking Politics is proudly co-sponsored by the Society for Linguistic Anthropology (SLA), the Center for the Study of Communication and Society (CSCS) and Linguistic Anthropology Lab at the University of Chicago, and the Program in Culture, Language, and Social Practice (CLASP) at the University of Colorado Boulder

For more information on the Talking Politics online forum, please contact Wee Yang Soh at weeyangs@uchicago.edu, or Velda Khoo at velda.khoo@colorado.edu.

...

Organizing Committee

Wee Yang Soh (Lead Organizer, UChicago)

Velda Khoo (Lead Organizer, CU Boulder)

Joshua Babcock (UChicago)

Molly Hamm-Rodríguez (CU Boulder)

Jacob Henry (CU Boulder)

Maureen Kosse (CU Boulder)

Rebecca Lee (CU Boulder)

Maria Ruiz-Martinez (CU Boulder)

Feng Ye (UChicago)

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved