$60

SUMO STEW 031919 @ Brooklyn Brewery

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Brooklyn Brewery

79 North 11th Street

Brooklyn, NY 11249

View Map

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Refunds up to 7 days before event

Event description

Description

Tuesday, March 19th, 8-11PM @ Brooklyn Brewery (79 N 11th St, Brooklyn, NY 11249)


Inspired by a trip to Japan, photographer Michael Harlan Turkell (harlanturk.com) returned to New York City with aspirations of importing this ancient sport and teamed up with Harry Rosenblum, founder of The Brooklyn Kitchen (thebrooklynkitchen.com), a center for culinary education. The two created a series based around plentiful bowls of chankonabe, the “sumo stew” wrestlers prepare and eat before matches. The hearty broth is loaded with fortifying protein and vegetables. This, paired with the live streamed bimonthly grand tournaments, makes for a lively event, bringing hungry first time and long-standing sumo fans ringside.


FOOD:

This round of SUMO STEW will feature a seasonal chankonabe (the sumo stew).

Every guest will also get a special bento box, composed of Japanese-inspired dishes from top local chefs, including Noodles, Tofu, Beef, Turkey, Mushrooms and more from some of our favorite purveyors (see list below).

  • Restaurants and list of dishes to be announced shortly ...


DESSERT:

  • Mochi Ice Cream from Mochidoki, mochidoki.com


DRINKS:

Nikka Whisky cocktail, nikka.com

Mizu Shochu, mizushochu.com

Sake

Senbird Tea, senbirdtea.com


VENDORS:

Wuhao tenugui (Japanese-style multi-purpose cloths), wuhaonyc.com

Handmade Cutlery by Kikuichi, kikuichi.net

Kimono and yukata rentals and sales from Kaede, kaedenyc.com


Tickets and information:

www.sumostew.com

(Must be 21+ to attend)


*The $60 ticket grants each participant a bento box, bowl of chankonabe, and 1 beer token, and 2 drink tickets to be used for sake, shochu, or a whisky cocktail – and round after round of sumo. More beer and additional drink tickets will be available for purchase at the event.


**A portion of the proceeds will be donated to the Japan Society. japansociety.org


CONTACTS:

Michael Harlan Turkell, michael@harlanturk.com, 646.808.4159

Harry Rosenblum, harry@thebrooklynkitchen.com, 718.389.2982


ARIGATOGOZAIMASHITA:

Sun Noodle, ramen, sunnoodle.com

Heritage Foods, turkey, heritagefoods.com

Happy Valley Meat Co., beef, happyvalleymeat.com

Hodo Foods, *yuba, tofu, hodofoods.com

The Japanese Pantry, artisan Japanese pantry ingredients, thejapanesepantry.com

Regalis Foods, regalisfoods.com

Smallhold, mushrooms, smallhold.com

Kayanoya, dashi, usa.kayanoya.com

Breville, Control Freak induction burners, brevilleusa.com


*Yuba: A Kyoto delicacy, fresh yuba is rare even in Asia. Nutty, sweet and with a distinctive bite that is firm yet chewy, yuba is the thin veil that forms on the surface of heated soymilk as the cream and protein rise to the surface. Sometimes known as tofu skin, these greatly prized sheets are harvested by hand, and Hodo is the only organic, fresh yuba maker in the United States.


***SUMO logo by Taisan Tanaka, shogakaboz.jp

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Brooklyn Brewery

79 North 11th Street

Brooklyn, NY 11249

View Map

Refund Policy

Refunds up to 7 days before event

Save This Event

Event Saved