Skip Main Navigation
Page Content

Save This Event

Event Saved

South American Astronomy Coordination Committee (SAACC) Meeting 2019, Santiago, Chile

CIARA FIU

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 from 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM (Chile Standard Time Chile (Santiago) Time)

South American Astronomy Coordination Committee...

Ticket Information

Type End Quantity
SAACC Spring Meeting, April 17, 2019 Apr 15, 2019 Free  

Event Details

The SAACC is now in its 10th year and serves not only to provide input and advice to the AmLight PI and the Steering Committee on program and network needs, but also as a venue for coordinating the needs of these astronomical projects and institutions to improve their resource planning and implementation of operational connections between these distant facilities and users in the continental US and Latin-American Countries.

 

Corresponding time zones (start time): 

Santiago, Chile Wed, Apr 17, 2019 at 9:00 am CLT
Miami, USA Wed, Apr 17, 2019 at 9:00 am EDT
Tucson, USA Wed, Apr 17, 2019 at 6:00 am MST
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Wed, Apr 17, 2019, at 10:00 am BRT
São Paulo, Brazil Wed, Apr 17, 2019, at 10:00 am BRT
Chicago, USA Wed, Apr 17, 2019 at 8:00 am CDT
Berlin, Germany Wed, Apr 17, 2019, at 3:00 pm CEST

 

DATE 

1. SAACC Meeting on Wednesday, April 17th, 2019 from 09:00 – 17:00 hours
2. SAACC Engineering Meeting (LSST NET Meeting by invitation only) on Thursday, April 18th, 2019 from 09:00 – 17:00 hours


VENUE 

The REUNA office is located at José Domingo Cañas 2819, Ñuñoa, Santiago, Chile

Red Universitaria Nacional, REUNA, is a corporation made up of universities, research centers of excellence and international astronomical groups. It is the National Network for Research and Education in Chile (NREN) and is currently made up of 34 institutions. 

ACCOMMODATION 

Suggested hotels below are about 5 km from the REUNA office:
1. Park Plaza Hotel Santiago
2. Hotel Neruda, Providencia, Santiago
3. Hotel Orly

TRANSPORTATION 

From the airport to the city center you can use the link here to schedule a taxi or a rental car. 

AGENDA 

Please email your presentation to vchergar at fiu.edu by April 15, 2019.

Preliminary Agenda

Wednesday, April 17th, 2019
9:00 - Welcome

Session I: Science Requirements & Activities Updates
9:20 - Remarks and Introduction:
9:40 - AURA ()
10:00 - NRAO ()
10:20 - Refreshment Break
10:40 - ALMA ()
11:00 - LSST ()
11:20 - Open Discussion/Coordination

12:00 - Lunch Break (1 hour)

Session II: Providers updates
13:00 - AmLight1: International links (Julio Ibarra)
13:20 - AmLight2: Connections/protocols/developments (Jeronimo Bezerra)
13:40 -REUNA ()
14:00 - ANSP ()
14:20 - RedCLARA ()
14:40 - Refreshment Break
15:00 - RNP ()
15:20 - Open Discussion/Coordination
16:00 - Adjourn

Thursday, April 18th, 2019
TBD


VIDEO CONFERENCE 

TBD

Have questions about South American Astronomy Coordination Committee (SAACC) Meeting 2019, Santiago, Chile? Contact CIARA FIU

Save This Event

Event Saved

When & Where


REUNA
José Domingo Cañas 2819
Ñuñoa
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Chile

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 from 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM (Chile Standard Time Chile (Santiago) Time)


  Add to my calendar

Organizer

CIARA FIU


Center for Internet Augmented Research and Assessment (CIARA) fosters a domain-specific tailoring of Internet technologies to support faculty research, and in the process improve graduate education.

CIARA assesses and measures Florida International University's effectiveness in the use of technology to augment the rate of discovery for domain researchers.

  Contact the Organizer

Interested in hosting your own event?

Join millions of people on Eventbrite.

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.