Sierra Godfrey In-Store Book Launch

Sierra Godfrey In-Store Book Launch

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Date and time

Location

Mrs Dalloway's

2904 College Avenue

Berkeley, CA 94705

View map

Join us Tuesday Sep 13th when author Sierra Godfrey comes to Mrs. Dalloway's to launch her debut novel A Very Typical Family

About this event

In A Very Typical Family, a woman must return to her hometown of Santa Cruz, CA and reunite with the estranged brother and sister she sent to prison 15 years earlier. It's a propulsive contemporary women’s fiction debut with dark humor and messy yet warm-hearted family dynamics, perfect for fans of Claire Lombardo’s The Most Fun We Ever Had and Emma Straub’s All Adults Here.

Natalie Walker is the reason her brother and sister went to jail over 15 years ago. As a result, she hasn't spoken to her family since. On the same day she expects to be promoted at her job (until her boyfriend Paul swoops in and takes the position), Natalie receives a letter from a lawyer in Santa Cruz saying her mother has died and the only way for her children to inherit their family's large, historical home is for all three adult children to come back and claim it.

Natalie drives to Santa Cruz, expecting to sign some documents, see siblings Lynn and Jake, and get back to her life in Boston. But Jake, now an award-winning scientist, is missing. And Lynn, working as an undertaker in NYC, shows up with her teenaged son. While Natalie and her nephew look for Jake—meeting a very handsome Spanish scientist in the process—Natalie takes stock of her life and the guilt she has held dear for so many years. Though no one can change the past, every day is an opportunity to change how you want to live in the future.

SIERRA GODFREY was born in Santa Cruz, California (where this novel is set!). She currently lives in the foggy wastelands of the San Francisco Bay Area with her family, which includes a dog, two cats, and a turtle, all of which seemed like a good idea at the time.

https://www.sierragodfrey.com/

Due to ongoing COVID concerns and customer safety considerations, we will be limiting the number of attendees at our in-store events. To that end, please note the following and thank you for your understanding.

THIS EVENT is free but pre-registration is required. Registration ends at 4pm on September 13th.

BECAUSE SEATING is limited, please register only if you plan to attend.

DUE TO SPACE limitations, we may not be able to accommodate every person at an event, so early registration is encouraged.

MASKS are required for attendees during the event.

WE ARE NOT ABLE to accommodate any walk-ins that evening.

WE ASK that attendees arrive between 6:30 and 6:45pm for the event.

Share with friends