CA$12

Scaachi Koul: One Day We'll All be Dead and None of this Will Matter

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Triffo Theatre

11110 104 Avenue Northwest

MacEwan University

Edmonton, AB T5J 4S2

Canada

View Map

Friends Who Are Going
Event description

Description

For readers of Mindy Kaling, Jenny Lawson and Roxane Gay, Scaachi Koul's debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants in Canada, "a land of ice and casual racism," by the irreverent, hilarious cultural observer and incomparable rising Buzzfeed star. Koul's subjects range from shaving her knuckles in grade school to dealing with internet trolls to parsing the trajectory of fears and anxieties that pressed upon her immigrant parents and bled down a generation. Alongside these personal stories are pointed observations about life as a woman of colour, where every aspect of her appearance is open for critique, derision or outright scorn. With a clear eye and biting wit, Scaachi Koul explores the absurdity of a life steeped in misery. And through these intimate, wise and laugh-out-loud funny dispatches, a portrait of a bright new literary voice emerges.


Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Triffo Theatre

11110 104 Avenue Northwest

MacEwan University

Edmonton, AB T5J 4S2

Canada

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved