Present Tense
$50 – $425
Present Tense

Event Information

Share this event
Date and Time


1111 Jones Street

Omaha, NE

View Map

Event description


Have amazing conversations.
Meet smart people.
Leave inspired.

Join us at "Present Tense" in Omaha, Nebraska, for our 12th national conference.

Experience the conference at Kaneko, a visionary and creative event location in historic, downtown Omaha.

Experience two and a half days of moderated, unscripted dialogues among leading creative thinkers of different disciplines, generations, and worldviews.

Engage in dialogue during our common-interest conversations around themes like apprenticeship, education, institutional leadership, interpretation, criticism, process, and community.

Enjoy engaging exhibitions, tours, brain teasers, and a Library Lab - all designed to inspire and transform your mind with craft.

Honor our 2016 College of Fellows as part of our biennial American Craft Council Awards ceremony on Friday evening, October 14.



Thursday, October 13, through Saturday, October 15, 2016

Conference Opening: Thursday, October 13, 6 p.m. 
Conference Closing: Saturday, October 15, 5 p.m.

AWARDS CEREMONY: Friday, October 14, 7 p.m. The American Craft Council will host the American Craft Council Awards during the conference, honoring the 2016 recipients. A complimentary ticket to the event is included with your conference registration.


ACC Members: $265
Become a new member now and get the discounted member rate and a two-year membership to ACC. ($265 conference registration plus $70 for a two-year ACC membership)
Student members: $215
Non-members $425


Tanya Aguiñiga, fiber artist
Sarah Archer, independent scholar
Nancy Callan, glass artist
Tino Chow, co-founder A Better World by Design
Sonya Clark, ACC trustee / chair of the Department Craft and Materials Studies at Virginia Commonwealth University
Fabio Fernández, executive director Society of Arts and Crafts, Boston
Nicholas Galanin, artist
Susie Ganch, jeweler/sculptor
Miguel Gómez-Ibáñez, ACC trustee / president of North Bennet Street School
Jessica Hische, lettering artist
Ayumi Horie, ACC trustee / studio potter
Amos Paul Kennedy, printmaker/activist
Stuart Kestenbaum, ACC board of trustees chair and former director Haystack Mountain School of Crafts
Lydia Matthews, ACC trustee / director Curatorial Design Research Lab at Parsons School of Design, The New School
Jean McLaughlin, executive director Penland School of Crafts
Tina Oldknow, former Corning Museum of Glass curator
Bruce Pepich, ACC trustee / executive director and curator of collections at Racine Art Museum
Paul Sacaridiz, ceramist/director Haystack Mountain School of Crafts
Mark Shapiro, potter
Rosanne Somerson, furniture maker/president, Rhode Island School of Design
Michael Strand, ACC trustee / associate professor and head of visual arts at North Dakota State University
Otto von Busch, associate professor at Parsons School of Design, The New School
Anna Walker, ‎MFA Houston Windgate Foundation curatorial fellow for contemporary craft
William Warmus, independent scholar
Namita Gupta Wiggers, ACC trustee / author, director and co-founder of Critical Craft Forum


Omaha is a walkable, eclectic, and vibrant destination - and the perfect location for our conference.

The ACC has preferred-rate rooms available at the Hyatt Place Downtown Old Market, the Hampton Inn-Omaha, and the Magnolia Hotel-Omaha.

BOOK SOON! Hotels have limited inventory and rates are subject to availability!

Register by July 11 for preferred rate
Hyatt Place Omaha Downtown Old Market SOLD OUT!
24-hour reservation line: 800-233-1234 (please mention dates and block)

Register by August 27 for preferred rate
Hampton Inn

Register by September 13 for preferred rate
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
PARKING: Valet parking is provided for $17 per vehicle per night and $10 for event-day parking.

Share with friends
Date and Time


1111 Jones Street

Omaha, NE

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved