PREPARING & DEFENDING TAX RETURNS
FOR THE LEGAL MARIJUANA INDUSTRY
Ensuring tax professionals possess the tools to help the industry.
The legal marijuana industry finds itself in a very unique tax limbo - while the sale of marijuana is legal (but regulated) in many states, marijuana remains a Schedule I narcotic under federal law. As such, the preparation of tax returns for industry businesses is governed by Internal Revenue Code Section 280E and a number of court cases. Spend the day with us and acquire the tools you need to protect yourself, your practice and your clients.
Join us for 9* hours of continuing education taught by enrolled agents, CPAs and attorneys. Material to be covered includes:
- IRC Section 280E and the intersection with IRC 263A and IRC 471
- Chief Counsel's Advice 201504011
- Defending the Cash Only Business at Examination and Appeals
- Best practices for legal structure in the industry
- Update on Colorado rules and regulations
- Update on Oregon & Washington local tax issues
- Update of California issues
- Introduction to and discussion of Nevada issues
- Other states discussion
- Hear from former IRS employees involved in examinations of marijuana returns
- And more!
Hotel rooms can be reserved here: http://doubletree.hilton.com/en/dt/groups/personalized/L/LAXCCDT-60G-20161206/index.jhtml?WT.mc_id=POG Reservations must be made by November 15, 2016 in order to get discounted rate. After that, rates are offered at hotel's availability and discretion. Group Name is Tax Practice Pro and the code, if needed, is 60G.
Questions? Call 1-800-943-1750.
OUR REFUND, TRANSFER and CANCELLATION POLICY: Full refund, less $25 processing fee, if requested 21 days or more before the event. 50% refund if requested 8-20 days before event. No refund if requested less than 8 days from the event. Requests must be in writing and sent to email@example.com. We can honor a transfer to the same course at another venue. The following fees apply: $25 if the transfer is requested 21 days or more prior to the event you are registered for. A 50% fee is applied if you request the transfer 8-20 days before the event you are registered for. No transfers can be accommodated with less than 8 days of notice from the event you are registered for (effective 11/21/2015).