Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Save This Event

Event Saved

OpenGov & CivicTech at the Crossroads

Lucas Cioffi

Thursday, October 27, 2016 from 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM (EDT)

OpenGov & CivicTech at the Crossroads

Ticket Information

Ticket Type Sales End Price Fee Quantity
Participant Ended Free $0.00
Supporting Sponsor Ended $100.00 $0.00
Leading Sponsor Ended $350.00 $0.00

Share OpenGov & CivicTech at the Crossroads

Event Details

What is the purpose?  Why should I attend?

Depending on how you look at things, the fields of OpenGov and Civic Tech are either in full retreat or preparing for the next major push forward.

The purpose of this 3-hour online unconference is to catch our breath as a community.

Please skim at least one of these articles before the event begins:

The provocative quote from Dan's article: "Yes, the civic tech movement should be shelved. It has run its course. The models of hack nights and civic apps and techno-determinist solutions have proven ineffective."

More details are below!

LEADING SPONSORS

Zoom Logo

 

 

SUPPORTING SPONSORS

Civic Tech Code School Logo  QiqoChat Logo

What is an "unconference"?

Unlike standard conferences sessions where people give presentations, unconference sessions are far more conversational.  Professionals will discuss and work through the challenges at the cutting edge of the opengov & civic tech fields.


What is the agenda?

Participants (including you!) create the agenda during the opening session.  This ensures that everyone finds a session that interests them and sets a collaborative tone for the event right from the start.


Who will be there?

Designers, developers, activists, practitioners, and entrepreneurs working at the intersection of civic engagement and technology.  The power of this event is that it will bring together people with different skills.  Time zones are chosen to make the event accessible to people in the Americas, Africa, and Europe.


How will we connect?

  • We will use Slack for group and 1-1 messaging.
  • We will use Zoom for video chat.
  • We will use QiqoChat to enable multiple Zoom sessions at the same time.


Before the Event

  1. Download Zoom to see everyone by video (sharing your webcam is optional).
  2. Join the Civic Innovation Slack channel for group chat and 1-1 messaging with other participants.
  3. Invite your friends!

 
Agenda
  • Welcome (15 min): 4:00pm BST (11:00am EST)
  • Round 1 (45 min): 4:15pm BST (11:15am EST)
  • Round 2 (45 min): 5:00pm BST (12:00pm EST)
  • Round 3 (30 min): 5:45pm BST (12:45pm EST)
  • Round 4 (30 min): 6:15pm BST (1:15pm EST)
  • Closing (15 min): 6:45pm BST (1:45pm EST)

Tech Help for Participants without a Computer
You will be able to participate by phone, computer microphone, and/or webcam.  If you are calling from outside the USA, you can dial a local phone number.


Have questions about OpenGov & CivicTech at the Crossroads? Contact Lucas Cioffi
Attendee List Sort by: Date | First Name | Last Name
Show More

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.