Skip Main Navigation
Page Content
This event has ended

Save This Event

Event Saved

Online Facilitation Unconference 2015

Intellitics, Inc. & Friends

Thursday, October 22, 2015 at 4:00 PM - Saturday, October 24, 2015 at 6:00 PM (PDT)

Online Facilitation Unconference 2015

Ticket Information

Ticket Type Sales End Price Fee Quantity
Finders keepers
You came here early. Free entry for you. Yay!
Ended Free $0.00
Super early bird Ended $9.00 $0.00
Early bird Ended $14.00 $0.00
Late bird Ended $19.00 $0.00
Super late bird Ended $19.99 $0.00
General Ended $24.00 $0.00
Sliding scale
Flexible pricing, just pay what you can afford. For students and people with low income, particularly those living outside the United States. We'd love to have you all. No questions asked!
Ended

Share Online Facilitation Unconference 2015

Event Details

The Art and Practice of Facilitating in Virtual Environments

Online Facilitation Unconference 2015:
A Learning Exchange As Part Of International Facilitation Week

For the third year in a row, this informal, community-driven event brings together experts and novices, professionals and amateurs, to share and learn together and to explore the challenges and opportunities of online facilitation.

As is the nature with unconferences, the agenda and programming will be driven entirely by the participants. See our FAQ at the bottom of this page to find out more about the format.

IAF Logo IFW2015

Thank you to our sponsors!

  • Stormz: Stormz engages your employees by transforming inefficient top-down seminars into awesome collaborative and digital events.
  • Intellitics: We help communities apply information and communications technologies to drive collaborative governance, public participation and other participatory processes.
  • Qiqochat: QiqoChat is for peer-to-peer knowledge sharing within online communities.  In addition to standard tools such as email discussion lists and blogging, it enables live audio/video events which are far more engaging than webinars.

What is this? 

Online Facilitation Unconference 2015 is an informal, community-driven, and not-for-profit event for people to share and learn about the exciting world of facilitating in virtual environments.

What do you mean by “virtual”?

We use the term very broadly to include any technology that supports convening people in dialogue or other forms of group process, for example: webinars, voice and video conferencing, online forums, online classrooms, social media, text or video chat, virtual worlds… you name it!

Why should I attend? 

Whether you’re an online facilitation expert or completely new to the topic, you are invited to share and learn. If you are already an online facilitation expert or have used information and communications technologies to lead groups and achieve outcomes, this is a great opportunity to share your knowledge and your experience with others who want to learn more. If you are new to online facilitation and curious what the possibilities might be, this is your chance to make new connections with people who share your interest and hopefully learn a few things along the way.

How do I participate?

We will provide a central online meeting space for people to introduce each other, suggest session ideas or throw out questions they'd like to tackle, find partners, pick a session time etc.

For the sessions themselves, hosts are expected to provide/suggest the meeting tool/venue of their choice. In the past, we've also had some people make their infrastructure (e.g. webinar service) available to others who might need it.

You can choose to actively participate in the topic brainstorming phase. Or, you can simply wait and see which topics emerge and then attend the sessions you find most interesting.

During the sessions, we encourage hosts to assign one or two note takers to help us document what's being discussed. We hope to have volunteers available to help with this task. Contact hello@intellitics.com if you'd like to get involved.

What topics will be covered?

That depends on who shows up and where the most energy is. As of Wednesday, October 21, some of the emerging topics include:

  • Large-scale online consultations from design to delivery
  • Text-based World Cafe experiment
  • Do we need a code of conduct for virtual conferences and events?
  • Virtual "bookending" of in-person events (adding online pre & post event)
  • How to run creative workshops online?
  • Encouraging active participation in e-learning environments
  • Online facilitation around policy change
  • Mash-ups (using a combination of tools/modalities to “super-charge” virtual conversations)
  • What would a quick study guide for volunteer online facilitators look like?

Who are the attendees?

Once again, this is shaping up to be a very international event. We're thrilled to have people signed up from or currently based in: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Jordan, Lithuania, Malaysia, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Pretty cool!

We also have a great diversity of skills and backgrounds, including higher education and elearning, mediation, collaboration, technology and more.

What's the schedule?

Sessions will take place over a 48-hour period between Thursday, October 22 and Saturday, October 24 (Pacific Time). Here's the rough timeline:

  • October 15: registrations open
  • October 19: topic brainstorming begins
  • October 22-24: unconference sessions (a detailed calendar with all sessions will be made available)
  • Late October/early November: follow-up with documentation of all sessions

In order to best accommodate participants from all three major time zone areas (Europe/Africa, Asia/Australia, the Americas), we encourage session hosts to stay within our recommended time slots (see below).

Check the Google doc for an updated listing of sessions.

What are the recommended session time slots?

In order to best accommodate people in diffenent time zones, we suggest that session host try to schedule their sessions during the following six main time slots:

Day

Slot

Start and end times

Thursday, October 22

A

4-7pm Pacific / 7-10pm NYC / 1-4am Berlin / 8-11am Seoul / 10am-1pm Sydney

Friday, October 23

B

12-3am Pacific / 3-6am NYC / 9am-12pm Berlin / 4-7pm Seoul / 6-9pm Sydney
(includes #FacWeekChat, see below)

 

C

8-11am Pacific / 11am-2pm NYC / 5-8pm Berlin / 12-3am Seoul / 2-5am Sydney
(includes #FacWeekChat, see below)

 

D

4-7pm Pacific / 7-10pm NYC / 1-4am Berlin / 8-11am Seoul / 10am-1pm Sydney

Saturday, October 24

E

12-3am Pacific / 3-6am NYC / 9am-12pm Berlin / 4-7pm Seoul / 6-9pm Sydney

 

F

8-11am Pacific / 11am-2pm NYC / 5-8pm Berlin / 12-3am Seoul / 2-5am Sydney

Please note there will be two 1-hour #FacWeekChat Twitter chats happening during slots B and C, respectively:

Day

Start and end times

Thursday, October 23

2-3am Pacific / 5-6am NYC / 11am-12pm Berlin / 6-7pm Seoul / 8-9pm Sydney


8-9am Pacific / 11am-12pm NYC / 5-6pm Berlin / 12-1am Seoul / 2-3am Sydney 


How long are the sessions?

It's an unconference, so... however long or short you need them to be!

Sessions usually last 45-60 minutes, but of course the host or the group can decide to go longer (or shorter). In previous years, sessions have taken one hour or less about 90% of the time.

What's the hashtag?

Please join the conversation on Twitter using hashtag #ofu2015.

You can find other news related to Facilitation Week following the hashtag #facweek.

Can I volunteer?

Yes! We are looking for volunteers to help in various roles:

  • Event planning & pre-work
  • Marketing and outreach
  • Session notetaking and documentation
  • Social media coverage
  • Concierge

Volunteers attend for free. Small honorariums may be available depending on turn-out. Email hello@intellitics.com if you'd like to learn more. Thank you!

What about previous events?

Check out the archive for the 2013 event.

Where can I learn more about International Facilitation Week?

Check the calendar on the IAF website.

What benefits do I receive as a sponsor?

  • Website listing (name, description, logo, URL)
  • Listing in conference report
  • Social media mentions
  • 5 unconference tickets
  • Ability to share discount codes with attendees (Gold level only)
  • Opportunity to reach opt-in attendees via follow-up email (Gold level only)

Who's the organizer?

This year, the Online Facilitation Unconference is brought to you by Intellitics, Inc., a digital engagement firm based in San José, CA (USA). We help organizations, communities and practitioners in the public, private and non-profit sector apply information and communications technologies to drive collaborative governance, public participation and other participatory processes.

Why does it cost money to attend?

This not-for-profit event is being organized as a service to the greater participation and facilitation community. We use the available funds to cover our own hard costs and to pay out small honorariums for our volunteers. We managed to break even with the 2013 and 2014 events.

Who can I contact if I need more information?

Please email us at hello@intellitics.com.

Have questions about Online Facilitation Unconference 2015? Contact Intellitics, Inc. & Friends
Attendee List Sort by: Date | First Name | Last Name
Show More

When

Thursday, October 22, 2015 at 4:00 PM - Saturday, October 24, 2015 at 6:00 PM (PDT)


  Add to my calendar

Organizer

Intellitics, Inc. & Friends

Intellitics is a digital engagement firm based in San José, CA (USA). We help organizations, communities and practitioners in the public, private and non-profit sector apply technology to drive collaborative governance, public participation and other participatory processes.

  Contact the Organizer

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.