November 2022 IIIF Online Training (5-Day Course)

Actions Panel

November 2022 IIIF Online Training (5-Day Course)

This limited-seat 5 day course starts Nov 21 and is conducted online with video tutorials and extensive tutoring/support opportunities.

When and where

Date and time

Location

Online

Refund Policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.
Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

About this event

This workshop will meet daily November 21st to November 25th for one hour starting at 18:00 JST / 11:00 SAST / 10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT and as such will be suitable for people in Japan, Africa, Europe and the UK.

No prior knowledge of IIIF is required and the core sessions should be easily accessible to those with confidence using the Web. Prior knowledge of HTML and JSON syntax is useful but not required. Tutoring and support opportunities are available via Slack and one-on-one Zoom meetings. By the end of the workshop, participants will have completed a small IIIF project, which they will demo for the group at the final meeting.

Meeting schedule:

November 21st: 18:00 JST / 11:00 SAST / 10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT - Introduction and course overview

November 22nd: 18:00 JST / 11:00 SAST / 10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT - Group check-in meeting

November 23rd: 18:00 JST / 11:00 SAST / 10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT - Group check-in meeting

November 24th: 18:00 JST / 11:00 SAST / 10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT - Group check-in meeting

November 25th: 18:00 JST / 11:00 SAST / 10:00 CET / 09:00 GMT - Project demos and closing meeting

Although recordings will be made available, participants should expect to attend the Monday and Friday meetings in real-time, and may schedule additional check-in meetings as needed to discuss ideas or issues they are having with the instructor and other participants.

Requirements:

  • Participants should plan for 3-4 additional hours per day to complete assignments outside scheduled meeting times.
  • Participants will also need a laptop on which they can install software, including Zoom, Slack, and various optional workshop-specific tools.

Course details:

This workshop covers:

  • Getting started with the Image API
  • Getting started with the Presentation API
  • Creating IIIF Manifests
  • Annotating IIIF resources
  • Setting up a basic annotation server
  • Introduction to various IIIF tools and techniques for scholarship

After completing this workshop, participants will be able to:

  • Run a local image server
  • Annotate IIIF images
  • Build a IIIF Presentation Manifest using the Bodleian Manifest Editor
  • Relate existing applications of IIIF to local user needs
  • View the course syllabus for more details on what is covered.

Diversity fellowship seats:

The IIIF Consortium is committed to being accessible, inclusive, and reducing barriers for people who want to learn about the Framework. That is why we make seats available in every workshop at no cost to encourage participation from a more diverse body of community members and institutions.

If your institution does not have funding for training opportunities and you count yourself among the groups listed below, then these fellowship seats are available to you:

  • People of color, ability/disability, non-binary gender identities, etc.
  • Participants from under-represented countries or geographic regions, such as (but not limited to) the Global South
  • Members of underrepresented and/or marginalized groups that don't fit into the categories listed above

These tickets are first-come, first-served, and made available by the honor system; we do not require any documentation of any kind to claim these tickets. To claim a fellowship seat, register for the workshop and select the 'fellowship ticket' option.

The header image used for this event is a IIIF Image from the Smithsonian American Art Museum titled "Criccieth, N. Wales".