This event has ended

Nomad Ruby - March 2014

E.I.C.C., Inc.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014 from 8:00 PM to 9:00 PM (CDT)

Nomad Ruby - March 2014

Ticket Information

This event is invite-only

You need an invitation to register for this event. Contact the host to find out more.

Looking for something to do?
Check out other great events using Eventbrite.

Who's Going

Loading your connections...

Event Details

Incremental Segregation

Presented by Jim Weirich (@jimweirich)

Date: March 11. 2013
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 2:00 CET (March 12), 1:00 GMT (March 12)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the Time Zone Conversion

Testing is hard. Testing a Rails application is even harder. Rails applications tend to blend application logic and framework logic together, making tests load up lots of framework code just to test minor pieces of functionality. The result is that tests run slow, and developers tend to run test less often.

There are many solutions to the application / framework blending problem, but many require a large, up front architectural commitment. If you have an existing application that needs help, then you just out of luck.

In this presentation, we will talk about an incremental approach to application and framework segregation, one that even existing applications can use to good effect.

 

Meet Jim Weirich

Jim Weirich 

Jim Weirich first learned about computers when his college adviser suggested he take a computer science course: "It will be useful, and you might enjoy it." With those prophetic words, Jim has been developing now for over 25 years, working with everything from crunching rocket launch data on supercomputers to wiring up servos and LEDs on micro-controllers. Currently he loves working in Ruby and Rails as the Chief Scientist at Neo, but you can also find him strumming on his ukulele as time permits.

Engine Yard

Have questions about Nomad Ruby - March 2014? Contact E.I.C.C., Inc.

When

Organizer

E.I.C.C., Inc.

EICC, Inc. is the brainchild of the husband and wife team of Cal Evans and Kathy Evans. Together they have over 30 years of web site design and development experience.

  Contact the Organizer

Please log in or sign up

In order to purchase these tickets in installments, you'll need an Eventbrite account. Log in or sign up for a free account to continue.