$0 – $60

Next-Gen Science Education Conference - San Diego

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time



San Diego Miramar College

10440 Black Mountain Road

San Diego, CA 92126

View Map

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Event description


Next-Gen Science Education Conference
San Diego, California

The San Diego Science Education Conference (SDSEC) is returning this fall as the Next-Gen Science Education Conference at San Diego Miramar College. Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) for Physical Science, Life Science, Earth and Space Sciences, and Engineering and Science Practices will be emphasized with pedagogy to integrate into your classroom. Converse with colleagues and get new ideas and activities to use in your classroom!

Presenters and Session Schedule

You can view the complete list of presenters and the session schedule on the Next-Gen Science Education Conference Sched page. A list of presenters is also listed at the bottom of this page.

SDSEA Complimentary Registration Option

To support San Diego educators in their professional development, the San Diego Science Educators Association (SDSEA) is pleased to provide 40 complimentary registrations for TK-12 educators to attend the San Diego Science Education Conference (SDSEC) on Saturday, November 4, 2017 at Miramar College.

SDSEA will NOT REFUND nor be responsible for any registration fee if you have registered via other methods (i.e. school, district, personal, or other payments through other websites or registration forms). Please bring your Eventbrite registration confirmation to the SDSEA representative on November 4, 2017 and sign in to receive your free registration.

Attendee Registration Options

General Registration - $60
Valid between September 16 - November 3.

Student Registration - $20
Proof of active enrollment is required to qualify for the student registration rate.

Group Registration - $45 / each
Groups of four or more registering together qualify for a 25% discount per person.

Exhibitor Registration Options

Exhibitor tables are available for commercial and non-profit insititutions. Commercial registration includes up to two complimentary attendee registrations. Non-profit registration includes one complimentary attendee registration and an option for a discounted second attendee registration. All exhibitors are requested to enter their respective promotional code to receive their registration option.

Session Presenter Registration Options

Session presenter registration includes one complimentary attendee registration and an option for a discounted second attendee registration. Session presenters are asked to register using their respective promotional code to receive their registration option.

Science Behind the Beer

Come join us to network and relax with your colleagues at the White Labs Brewery. Everyone is welcome and you can get a 15% discount by showing your conference badge. Optional Behind the scenes tour & tasting can be bought separately for $10 (tour times 3:30, 4:15, and 5:00) Tours focus on the microbiology of the yeast in beer making, the Science Behind the Beer. At the end of the tour, guests choose between a flight or a pint of beer. (Tickets available for purchase on the ticket page)

What began as a home brewers searching for higher quality yeast quickly grew into a team of dedicated biochemists exploring new ways to advance brewing altogether. Today, White Labs stands at intersection of science, education and craft. Constantly striving for perfection and in the process continually raising the bar in the art of fermentation.

White Labs San Diego serves as our global headquarters. The facility has full production yeast making capabilities, an analytical lab, packaging, shipping and receiving, administrative offices, and educational training rooms. We have 20-barrel brewhouse on-site that produces beers to be featured in our 32-tap Tasting Room. Stop by and experience how much yeast impacts the complexity and overal profile of beer!


Conference Presenters

  • Armand Amoranto

    Armand Amoranto

    SBRT Palmquist Elementary School

  • JA Jonathan Appelbaum

    Jonathan Appelbaum

  • Tim Bingham

    Tim Bingham

    Strategic Energy Innovations

    Program Director

  • AB Amy Booth

    Amy Booth

  • MB Melanie Brown

    Melanie Brown

    Sweetwater School District

    Science Curriculum Specialist

  • DC Dawn Castillo

    Dawn Castillo

  • JC Juanita Chan

    Juanita Chan

    Rialto Unified School District

  • Jacques Chirazi

    Jacques Chirazi

    Biomimicry San Diego

    Certified Biomimicry Professional

  • JC Jennifer Chranowski

    Jennifer Chranowski

  • IC Ivan Corona

    Ivan Corona

  • Ashanti Davis

    Ashanti Davis

    Fleet Science Center

  • Heide Doss

    Heide Doss

    Point Loma Nazarene University

    Adjunct Professor

  • Liz Fitzpatrick

    Liz Fitzpatrick

    Strategic Energy Innovations

    Project Coordinator

  • HH Heather Holland

    Heather Holland

    San Diego Master Gardeners

  • JH Jessica Howard

    Jessica Howard


    Keynote Speaker

  • Crystal Howe

    Crystal Howe

    CREEC - California Regional Environmental Education Community

  • Andee Hugenberg

    Andee Hugenberg


    Schools Manager

  • Cindy Jenson-Elliott

    Cindy Jenson-Elliott

    Educator and Author

  • Debra Kimberling

    Debra Kimberling

    Society of Women Engineers (SWE)

    Educator Chair

  • JK Jay Klopfenstein

    Jay Klopfenstein

  • SGL Shelley Glenn Lee

    Shelley Glenn Lee

  • Jon Lewis

    Jon Lewis

  • ML Mayasari Lim

    Mayasari Lim

  • Ota Lutz

    Ota Lutz

    NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

  • Dona Mapston

    Dona Mapston

    Salk Institute Education Outreach


  • AM Adrienne Marriott

    Adrienne Marriott

  • Becky McKinney

    Becky McKinney

    Escondido Union HS District

    Science TOSA

  • Jason Mizerek

    Jason Mizerek

    Fleet Science Center

    Manager, Educator Programs

  • Jennifer Munoz

    Jennifer Munoz

    Carmel Del Mar

    STEAM Science Specialist

  • Nicole Ornelas

    Nicole Ornelas

    Cabrillo National Monument

    Science Educator

  • Rachel Poland

    Rachel Poland

    Innovation Middle School

    Science Teacher

  • Allison Preve

    Allison Preve

  • Linda Rasmussen

    Linda Rasmussen

    Highland Ranch Elementary School


  • CR Cassie Rivaldi

    Cassie Rivaldi

  • Eleanora (Norrie) Robbins

    Eleanora (Norrie) Robbins

  • Jodye Selco

    Jodye Selco

    Center for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Education at Cal Poly Pomona

    Professor of Science Education

  • YS Yousif Slaiwa

    Yousif Slaiwa

  • Martin Teachworth

    Martin Teachworth

    La Jolla High School

    Physics Teacher

  • AMT Anne Marie Tipton

    Anne Marie Tipton

  • MV Meredith Vaughn

    Meredith Vaughn

  • KV Kolby Vaughn

    Kolby Vaughn

  • KV Kolby Vaughn

    Kolby Vaughn

  • Heather Walker

    Heather Walker

Share with friends

Date and Time


San Diego Miramar College

10440 Black Mountain Road

San Diego, CA 92126

View Map

Refund Policy

No Refunds

Save This Event

Event Saved