Free

New paradigms for a new world: Futurists Gerd Leonhard and John Eyles

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Welcome to the Great Transformation, accelerated by Covid19: Big Tech, Big State, Big Health, Big Green. What new paradigms are emerging?

About this Event

August 7, 2020. 8am CET. 8pm NZ. 6pm Sydney. 4pm Singapore.

This is a free event, live-streaming on YouTube and LinkedIn (registration is required), presented by

Gerd Leonhard, Futurist & Humanist, Author of “Technology vs Humanity”, Keynote Speaker, Host of TheFutureShow, CEO TheFuturesAgency, Zürich / Switzerland

John Eyles, Creator, Educator, Futureneer. Based in Waiheke / Auckland, New Zealand, John heads up multiple consulting initiatives in the areas of strategic planning, innovation, futurism, education, and healthcare.

Some of us are riding the 'CoronaCoaster' of utter uncertainty, worries and anxiety, yet others are also experiencing moments of hope and glimpses of a newly emerging world, accelerated by the pandemic.

Covid19 feels like a giant accelerator - both for the things that were 'good' before (working from home, ehealth, elearning, and online conferencing) as well as those that were not so good before (such as rising inequality and healthcare shortcomings).

Gerd and John believe that this crisis presents a very unique opportunity to tackle tough issues that seemed like ‘impossible missions’ before, such as climate change, inequality and the future of capitalism. After all, many of us are already getting used to emergency rules and regulations - maybe this is a good lesson for the future?

One thing is certain: We are entering an era of big tech, big media, big state & big debt, big health, and big green - and we are never 'going back to normal’ (whatever that was).

This is truly a unique pivot point in human history, where deep paradigm changes can occur and our future can be re-designed. Can we seize this moment and ensure that these humble beginnings become the new normal, so that we can build a better future together..?

Taking a wider view, Gerd and John will explore a wide range of near-future issues such as climate change, inequality, the future of capitalism and how to harness the current momentum for solidarity and collaboration across our societies. In addition, Gerd and John will comment on technology regulation, data security, surveillance and digital ethics.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved