Natasha Pulley: The Half Life of Valery K

Natasha Pulley: The Half Life of Valery K

Actions and Detail Panel

$0 – $37

Date and time

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Read on for important registration and book order details for this Brookline Booksmith virtual author event!

About this event

Celebrate the release of The Half Life of Valery K as we chat with author Natasha Pulley!

How to Register

  • Register on this page to receive a Zoom link
  • Register free, support the store, or buy the book to enter the event
  • If you don't receive a confirmation email after registering, contact us

Get Your Books

  • Books are held for pickup or shipped after ticket sales have closed.
  • STORE PICKUP- Pick up your book in person at Brookline Booksmith (Click here for directions). You will receive an email alert when your book is ready.
  • SHIPPING - Have your book shipped via USPS priority mail. Shipping is only available in the United States.

If you have trouble checking out, check the Eventbrite FAQ located here.

Natasha Pulley: The Half Life of Valery K image

The Half Life of Valery K

From the author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street and The Kingdoms, an epic Cold War novel set in a mysterious town in Soviet Russia.

In 1963, in a Siberian prison, former nuclear specialist Valery Kolkhanov has mastered what it takes to survive: the right connections to the guards for access to food and cigarettes, the right pair of warm boots, and the right attitude toward the small pleasures of life so he won't go insane. But one day, all that changes: Valery's university mentor steps in and sweeps him from the frozen camp to a mysterious unnamed city. It houses a set of nuclear reactors, and surrounding it is a forest so damaged it looks like the trees have rusted from within.

In City 40, Valery is Dr. Kolkhanov once more, and he's expected to serve out his prison term studying the effect of radiation on local animals. But as Valery begins his work, he is struck by the questions his research raises. Why is there so much radiation in this area? What, exactly, is being hidden from the thousands who live in the town? And if he keeps looking for answers, will he live to serve out his sentence?

Based on real events in a surreal Soviet city, and told with bestselling author Natasha Pulley's inimitable style, The Half Life of Valery K is a sweeping new adventure for readers of Stuart Turton and Sarah Gailey.

Natasha Pulley's first novel The Watchmaker of Filigree Street was a Sunday Times bestseller, won a Betty Trask Award and was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award. Her second novel, The Bedlam Stacks was shortlisted for the Royal Society of Literature's Encore Award and longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize while The Lost Future of Pepperharrow was published in 2020 to widespread critical acclaim, cementing her reputation as one of the most original and exciting writers at work. She lives in Bristol.

About Brookline Booksmith

We are one of New England’s premier independent bookstores, family-owned and locally run since 1961. We offer an extensive selection of new, used, and bargain books; unique, beautiful gifts; award-winning events series; and specialty foods. Every day, we strive to foster community through the written word, represent a diverse range of voices and histories, and inspire conversations that enrich our lives. Find more at brooklinebooksmith.com!

EVENT ACCESSIBILITY

Barring technical difficulty, auto-transcription is enabled on all Brookline Booksmith Zoom Webinar events.

Share with friends