Actions Panel


Host Russ Colchamiro interviews authors Gary Ross, Susan Lynn Solomn and Terez Peipins about mysteries set in and around Buffalo, NY.

When and where

Date and time



About this event

  • 1 hour
  • Mobile eTicket

Retired University at Buffalo professor GARY EARL ROSS is the author of the story collections Wheel of Desire, Shimmerville, and Beneath the Ice, the novel Blackbird Rising, the Gideon Rimes mysteries Nickel City Blues, NC Crossfire, NC Storm Warning, and NC Naked Lady, and the plays Sleepwalker, Picture Perfect, The Best Woman, Murder Squared, The Scavenger’s Daughter, The Mark of Cain, The Guns of Christmas, The Trial of Trayvon Martin, Stoker’s Guest, and Matter of Intent, winner of the 2006 Edgar Award from Mystery Writers of America. Other honors include three Emanuel Fried Outstanding New Play Awards, a LIFT Fiction Fellowship, a Saltonstall Foundation Playwriting Fellowship, two ASI-DEC artist’s grants for fiction, public radio commentary awards from the NY Associated Press and the NY Broadcasters Association, and a New York State Council on the Arts Individual Artist grant. The Scavenger’s Daughter and Matter of Intent have been adapted into motion pictures by CITOC Productions of Mumbai, India.

A former entertainment attorney, SUSAN LYNN SOLOMON leads the Buffalo Central Library/ Just Buffalo Literary Center Writer’s Critique Group. Also the author of the Emlyn Goode Mysteries, Ms. Solomon was a finalist in the Chanticleer International Book Award’s Mystery & Mayhem Novel category, and a finalist for the 2016 Book Excellence Award, her first Emlyn Goode novel, The Magic of Murder. The second Emlyn Goode novel, Dead Again, was a finalist for both the 2017 McGrath House Indie Book of the Year and the 2018 Book Excellent Award. Writing is Murder, the third Emlyn Goode novel, was awarded First Place in the 2019 Chanticleer International Book Award Mystery & Mayhem category. Other titles include the novelettes Bella Vita, The Day the Music Died, A Shot in the Woods, and ’Twas the Season, the story collection Voices in My Head, and the award-winning non-mystery novel Abigail’s Window. Her latest books are What’s Past is Prologue, Raising Kane and Shooting Parr, a new Emlyn Goode Mystery.

TEREZ PEIPINS is a writer of Latvian descent from Western New York. Her poetry, fiction, and essays have appeared in publications both in the United States and abroad. She is the author of four chapbooks of poetry and four novels. Her latest novel, River Clues is the second book in the Dan Kiraly detective series. She divides her time between Buffalo, New York, and Barcelona, Spain.

RUSS COLCHAMIRO is the author of Crackle and Fire, Fractured Lives, and Hot Ash, the first three novels in his ongoing Sci-Fi noir series featuring hardboiled private eye Angela Hardwicke. He is currently working on the fourth Hardwicke novel.

A member of Crazy 8 Press, Mystery Writers of America, and Private Eye Writers of America, Russ is also the co-author and editor of the noir novella collection Murder in Montague Falls, editor of the Sci-Fi mystery anthology Love, Murder & Mayhem, has contributed short stories to more than fifteen anthologies, including various Hardwicke mysteries, and is the author of the Sci-Fi adventure novels Crossline, Finders Keepers, Genius de Milo, and Astropalooza.

Russ also hosts his popular Russ’s Rockin’ Rollercoaster podcast, interviewing a who’s who of science fiction, crime, mystery, and horror authors.

He lives in Northern New Jersey with his wife, two ninjas, and black lab, Jinx, who may be an alien herself.