Mississippi Enhanced Carry Permit /
As required by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, the one-day class will consist of classroom study and practical shooting exercises. All training occurs at the DR&PC range complex in Como, MS. Upon successful completion of this course, attendees will receive the certificate required to obtain the “IC” endorsement for their Mississippi state-issued firearms permit. All classroom materials are included in the registration cost. Classes will begin promptly at 8:30 AM and typically end between 4:00 - 5:00 PM. Students will on their own for lunch, feel free to bring lunch or venture into Como, Batesville or Senatobia for a quick bite to eat.
1. Pistol or revolver suitable for concealed carry usage
2. 50-100 rounds of target ammunition for your firearm
3. Eye and ear protection
By signing up for this class, I understand I am to bring a pistol suitable for concealed carry and at least 50 rounds of appropriate ammunition for it. All firearms and ammunition are subject to safety inspection by the course instructors. I understand that all firearms usage is subject to the in effect Range Rules and agree that I will follow and comply with all posted and verbal instructions and requirements, for my own safety and the safety of others. I understand that limited beverages (water, coffee) and light snacks will be available during class hours for purchase and that I am responsible for my own lunch.
Enhanced Carry Permit Information
In Mississippi, any legal resident that passes a background check can typically obtain a concealed carry permit. An "enhanced" endorsement to the normal carry permit has also been made available to otherwise qualified concealed carry permit applicants who have taken a training course from an authorized instructor. You can obtain the enhanced endorsement for an existing, valid, Mississippi concealed carry permit by submitting proof of class completion to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety Firearm Permit Unit at one of the listed firearms permit offices. If you do not currently have a Mississippi concealed carry permit, you can obtain the normal permit and the enhanced endorsement at the same time when you submit your application, including proof of completion of class completion. There is no extra fee or other paperwork required to obtain the enhanced status other than submitting proof of class completion. With the enhanced endorsement added to our permit you are able to legally carry your concealed pistol or revolver into many more locations in the state of Mississippi. The enhanced endorsement does not apply to any states that offer reciprocity for Mississippi concealed carry permit holders. Learn more on our website by visiting the Mississippi Concealed Carry Statues Summary page.
Is there a minimum number of enrolled students for this course to run?
Yes, DeSoto Rifle & Pistol Club may cancel courses with less than SIX (6) students enrolled. In that event, DR&PC will reschedule students or refund their course payment, as the student requests.
Are there age and ID requirements or an age limit to attend this course?
For attendees over 16 years of age, you must bring your government issued ID with you to the course. While the course is open to students aged 13 and up, a parent or guardian must attend with students who are under 18 years of age. Note that you must also be 21 years old in Mississippi to own a pistol or obtain a concealed carry permit (unless you have armed forces veteran status).
Where can I contact the organizer with any questions?
Please contact the Director of Activities from our Contact page for more information.
Do I have to bring my printed ticket to the course?
Yes, please bring your printed ticket to the event for proof of enrolment.
What is the refund policy?
Please contact the Director of Activities from our Contact page for help in changing your registration to another available date in the future, or for refunds/cancellations.
The name on the registration/ticket doesn't match the attendee. Is that okay?
The name on the ticket must match the name on your government ID, or be closely similar. For example, registering as Jimmy would be OK if your legal name on your ID is James. However, if your legal name is James, registering as Hank would not be OK. The name printed on your class completion certificate should match your legal name on your ID.