Donation

MiA: Holiday Yoga for Self Care

Actions and Detail Panel

Donation

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Apply Alexander Technique thinking to your Yoga Practice for self-care during the holidays. Part of our ONLINE Mindfulness in Action Series.

About this Event

Don’t just add yoga to your to-do list. Let your practice support your life. Each class we’ll apply Alexander Technique thinking to our Yoga Practice – deepening your experience of asanas and the transitions between them and then building a movement series you can work on on your own. Come home to yourself for the holidays. All experience levels welcome.

  • 5 weeks on Tuesdays ONLINE
  • Nov 10 - Dec 15, for 90 minutes
  • NO CLASS ON THANKSGIVING WEEK, NOV 24
  • 8:30pm Eastern/7:30pm Central/6:30pm Mountain/5:30pm Pacific
  • Pay-What-You-Can (Suggested $45 - $150)
  • Taught by Amanda MacDonald and Sarah Mayhan

________________________________________________________________

About Sarah:

Hello! I’m Sarah Mayhan, an Alexander Technique teacher.

I certified as a teacher of the Alexander Technique at Alexander Technique Training in Chicago (ATTiC) under master teacher Daria Okugawa. This certification process, recognized by the professional organization the American Society for the Alexander Technique (AmSAT), is a rigorous, apprenticeship-based program requiring a minimum of 1600 hours of study.

I first learned of the technique while taking a summer conservatory course at the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art, and found it helped with the physical demands of performing onstage. I later returned to Alexander lessons in order to help recover from a repetitive strain injury due to a busy office job. With continued study of AT, I found freedom from long-standing tensions due to chronic neck pain, jaw pain, tension headaches, and scoliosis-related back pain. It is not an exaggeration to say that the Alexander Technique changed my life, not just providing relief from pain, but also a greater overall comfort in my body and a deeper understanding of myself.

My background is in theater production and performance - I love working with performers of all types in Chicago. I recently returned to my alma mater, Northwestern University to work with students in the acting program. I also enjoy ballroom and social dance - my new interest is Argentine tango. However, I love seeing students of all types use these bodymind awareness tools to express themselves in new ways.

You can learn more about Sarah at her website: https://www.learnalexanderchicago.com/

Amanda's bio is below:

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved