$0 – $28.99
Live at Brookline Booksmith! Kendall Kulper: Murder for the Modern Girl

Live at Brookline Booksmith! Kendall Kulper: Murder for the Modern Girl

Actions and Detail Panel

$0 – $28.99

Date and time

Location

Brookline Booksmith

279 Harvard Street

Brookline, MA 02446

View map

Refund policy

Contact the organizer to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Read on for important details for this live, in person Brookline Booksmith event.

About this event

In person at Brookline Booksmith! Celebrate the release of Murder for the Modern Girl with author Kendall Kulper, in conversation with Katie Cotugno.

Register for the event!

RSVP to let us know you're coming! Depending on the volume of responses, an RSVP may be required for entrance to the event. You will also be alerted to important details about the program, including safety requirements, cancellations, and book signing updates.

Reserve a book!

Books will be available for purchase at the event, but you can ensure that you get a copy by preordering on this page. You can pick your book up after 6:30PM on the day of the event.

Can't make it to the event? Preorder the book here to have it signed, and choose to have it held or shipped from the store!

FOR INFORMATION ON ACCESSIBILITY AND COVID PRECAUTIONS, PLEASE SCROLL ALL THE WAY DOWN.

If you have trouble checking out, check the Eventbrite FAQ located here.

Live at Brookline Booksmith! Kendall Kulper: Murder for the Modern Girl image

Murder for the Modern Girl

Gatsby-era glamour, a swoon-worthy love story, and an indomitable heroine dazzle in this romp that captures the extravagance of the Roaring Twenties and the dangers of vigilante justice.

A ravishing young mind reader stalks the streets at night in kitten heels, prowling for men to murder. A soft-spoken genius toils away in the city morgue, desperate to unearth the science behind his gift for shapeshifting. It’s a match made in 1928 Chicago, where gangsters run City Hall, jazz fills the air, and every good girl’s purse conceals a flask.

Until now, eighteen-year-old Ruby’s penchant for poison has been a secret. No one knows that she uses her mind-reading abilities to target men who prey on vulnerable women, men who escape the clutches of Chicago “justice.” When she meets a brilliant boy working at the morgue, his knack for forensic detail threatens to uncover her dark hobby. Even more unfortunately: sharp, independent Ruby has fallen in love with him.

Waltzing between a supernaturally enhanced romance, the battle to take down a gentleman’s club, and loyal friendships worth their weight in diamonds, Ruby brings defiant charm to every spectacular page of Murder for the Modern Girl—not to mention killer fashion. An irresistible caper perfect for fans of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

Kendall Kulper is the author of award-winning young adult historical fiction with a fantasy twist. She graduated from Harvard University with an honors degree in History & Literature and lives in Cambridge, MA with her husband, two daughters, and much-Instagrammed dog, Abby.

Moderator Katie Cotugno is the author of Birds of California which will be published in April 2022. She is the the New York Times bestselling author of seven romantic YA novels including 99 Days and You Say It First, and the co-author, with Candance Bushnell, of Rules for Being a Girl. Katie is a Pushcart Prize nominee whose work has appeared in The Iowa Review, The Mississippi Review and Argestes, as well as many other literary magazines. She lives in Boston.

About Brookline Booksmith

We are one of New England’s premier independent bookstores, family-owned and locally run since 1961. We offer an extensive selection of new, used, and bargain books; unique, beautiful gifts; award-winning events series; and specialty foods. Every day, we strive to foster community through the written word, represent a diverse range of voices and histories, and inspire conversations that enrich our lives. Find more at brooklinebooksmith.com!

EVENT ACCESSIBILITY

This event will take place in Brookline Booksmith's Used Book Cellar, which is only accessible by stair. If possible, the event will be livestreamed to YouTube. ASL interpretation may be provided (based on the availability of interpreters) but must be requested at least 2 weeks in advance of the event. Seats are limited. Please email us at tickets@brooklinebooksmith.com as soon as possible if you require ASL interpretation, guaranteed seating, or other accommodations. We will do our best to serve your needs!

IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING COVID & IN-PERSON EVENTS:

At this time masks are NOT required at Brookline Booksmith.

Please note that any Brookline Booksmith in-person event may be canceled by the bookstore, publisher, or author based on concerns about health and safety around the time of the event. Wherever possible, any in-person appearance canceled due to COVID will be moved to the Brookline Booksmith Zoom as a Webinar at the same date and time, and all tickets & registrations will be transferred to the online event. Book signing details may change. Refunds may be requested in the case of a virtual pivot or event cancellation.

Share with friends

Save This Event

Event Saved