$0 – $20

Lindsay Macmillan Presents: The Heart of the Deal

Actions and Detail Panel

$0 – $20

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Bookbug & this is a bookstore

3019 Oakland Drive

Kalamazoo, MI 49008

View Map

Event description
Join Author Lindsay Macmillan for a conversation and book signing of her debut book: " The Heart of the Deal"

About this event

Perfect for fans of The Happy Ever After Playlist and The Boyfriend Project, Lindsay MacMillan’s debut novel deftly captures the feeling of being adrift in your late twenties.

Rae is in a romantic recession.

The Wall Street banker is single in New York City and overwhelmed by the pressure to scramble up the corporate and romantic ladders. Feeling her biological clock ticking, she analyzes her love life like a business deal and vows to lock in a husband before her 30th birthday.

The Manhattan dating app scene has as many ups and downs as the stock market, and outsourcing dates to an algorithm isn’t exactly Rae’s idea of romance. She considers cutting her losses, but her friends help her stay invested, boosting her spirits with ice cream and cheap wine that they share in their sixth-floor walk-up while recapping cringe-worthy dates.

And then Rae meets Dustin, a poetic soul trapped in a business suit, just like her. She starts to hear wedding bells, but Dustin’s story is a complicated one, and no amount of financial modeling can project what their future will look like.

Can Rae free herself from the idea she had of what thirty was supposed to look like and let love breathe on its own timeline? Or is she too conditioned to stay on the “right track” to follow her unpaved intuition?

Moving, funny, and timely, The Heart of the Deal is the story of one woman’s reckoning with what success really is in a city, an industry, and a relationship whose low lows continually challenge the enchantment of the high highs.

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Bookbug & this is a bookstore

3019 Oakland Drive

Kalamazoo, MI 49008

View Map

{ _('Organizer Image')}

Organizer this is a bookstore | Bookbug

Organizer of Lindsay Macmillan Presents: The Heart of the Deal

Kalamazoo's independent bookstore spans two adjacent locations: Bookbug, focused entirely on children's books and this is a bookstore, featuring adult interest titles, with focus on literary fiction, non fiction, contemporary politics, graphic novels and young adult fiction. With over 7,000 square feet of combined space, the store also features a full service cafe/bar and hosts many events, several of which are now available online, and include: author readings, workshops, musical performances, book clubs, story times and more. 

Save This Event

Event Saved