Free

Lift Her Wealth: Connecting womxn to demystify money

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
A virtual summit for womxn who are looking to demystify the complicated world of money.

About this Event

Our Mission

We want to offer a safe space for womxn to talk about money and share stories. And we believe womxn should have access to that information without paying a dime.

Lift Her Wealth 2020

A virtual summit for womxn who are looking to demystify the complicated world of money. Connect with and learn from womxn as they speak about stock investing, salary negotiation, building a budget, setting professional and financial goals, and more.

More details on the conference website.

Agenda

DAY 1 - DEC 1st

Kickoff

(Dec 1, 10am PST / 1pm EST)

Stock Investing 101 - Allison Barr Allen, Co-Founder and COO of Fast

(Dec 1, 10:15am PST / 1:15pm EST)

Join Allison Barr Allen for an introduction to stock investing.

Allison is the co-founder and COO of Fast, the world’s fastest online login and checkout platform. Previously, Allison was the head of global product operations for the Money Team at Uber, where she helped scale Uber from 2,000 employees to more than 26,000 worldwide. Allison’s team launched and scaled Uber’s payments, risk, and compliance products globally, including on-demand payments, cash products, debit cards and credit cards.

The 6 Money Lies Women are Told - Sallie Krawcheck, Co-Founder and CEO of Ellevest

(Dec 1, 11am PST / 2pm EST)

“Be more confident. Lean in. You go, girl!” The idea that success is there for women to grab if we do everything *just right* feels good because it puts us in control. But it’s a lie. Even before the recession knocked so many women sideways, our forward progress had been stalled. Join Ellevest CEO Sallie Krawcheck to explore the money lies that are keeping us from financial equality and some critical truths that will help us get there.

The Hidden Costs of Being a Woman: Credit Shouldn't Be One of Them - Vrinda Gupta, Founder and CEO of Sequin

(Dec 1, 12pm PST / 3pm EST)

Women face hidden costs over their lifetime, from entry-level salaries to last retirement withdrawals and everything in between (the pink tax, gender wage gap, credit.). In this session, Sequin shares industry secrets to demystify credit, and dives deep into how building your credit history can be a powerful financial tool in disrupting these costs. Past attendees saw their credit confidence increase by 56% -- we'll see you there!

Demystifying Career Advancement - Alli Young, Founder and CEO of The Forem

(Dec 1, 1pm PST / 4pm EST)

In Alli's signature keynote, "Demystifying Career Advancement," attendees walk away inspired to own their career development and finally know how. Alli shares what she learned during her 20-year career in technology and year-long study of career advancement. She breaks down the five skills we all need to advance and explores how these skills can be incorporated into new behaviors. Attendees leave with new strategies to think about how to navigate their career, two methods of self-advocating ("Always On" and "The Big Ask"), and best practices for making sure they get recognized for their great work and seen for their impact.

Panel: Angel Investing - Maia Bittner, Founder of Pinch; Shireen Jaffer, Founder of Edvo; Mollie Fehlig, Founder of HER Digital Incubator and CEO of Fehlig Advisory

(Dec 1, 2pm PST, 5pm EST)

Join 3 prolific experts as they share their stories, insights, and outlooks on the state of Angel Investing.

Moderated by Annika Lewis, investor at Vanedge Capital.

Workshop: Getting Started With Building Your Financial System - Kavya Ravikanti, Founder of Young Not Broke

(Dec 1, 3pm PST, 6pm EST)

Not sure where to start with tackling your money? In this workshop, we'll go over the key components of a personal finance system and then start building one for you by assessing your numbers. This workshop is aimed at those just starting on their financial journey, but open to anyone who'd like to join!

Breakout Rooms

(Dec 1, 4:30pm PST, 7:30pm EST)

Get matched into sessions with your fellow attendees to have private and honest conversations about money. A moderator will teach participants how to use the matching tool and facilitate the flow of topics as we breakout and regroup.

DAY 2 - DEC 2nd

Workshop: Let's Talk About Imposter Syndrome - Gala Jackson, Lead Executive Career Coach at Ellevest

(Dec 2, TBD)

Imposter Syndrome is the overwhelming feeling that you don’t deserve your success — that your achievements are just luck, or you’re not as competent as the people around you. Sound familiar? Then this online workshop is for you. We’ll explore who experiences Imposter Syndrome (hint: you’re not alone). We’ll talk about why the pandemic might launch those feelings into high gear, and different ways they might show up. You’ll walk away knowing how to recognize Imposter Syndrome, with concrete actions you can take to deal with it.

Unravelling the Complexities of Compensation - Keisha Mistry, Recruiter at Unbounce

(Dec 2, 11am PST / 2pm EST)

Most people have no idea if they’re being compensated fairly. According to an article from HBR, over 60% of respondents in their study undervalued their pay against industry standards for their role.

As a candidate looking for a new job or as an employee looking for a promotion, how do you know if the number that you’re being offered is fair? The answer is as simple as understanding derivatives in calculus.

Let’s start with the fact that salary is not the only contributing factor to compensation. It also includes vacation days, extended health benefits, professional development and the list could go on. You could be miscalculating hundreds (and hopefully not thousands) of dollars!

In this talk, “Unravelling the Complexities of Compensation” I will simplify the basics of compensation theory, break down the different facets of compensation and prepare you to ask the right questions in your next negotiation. You will leave this talk feeling empowered with the knowledge and understanding to take control of your compensation package. As Rihanna’s infamous saying goes ‘Pay me what you owe me’.

Financial Diplomacy in Relationships - Sam Anderson, Financial Analyst at Huntington Bank

(Dec 2, 11:30am PST / 2:30pm EST)

Broaching the subject of personal finances can be difficult with a partner, especially if you both have different goals and plans on how to meet them. Discussions around money can turn very quickly in the wrong direction and both parties are left feeling frustrated. To make things worse, there really is no "right way" to talk about finances with your significant other. Every relationship is unique and how you communicate on this topic needs to take in account these idiosyncrasies. In this presentation, I hope to help you and your partner on your journey by sharing what did and did not work in my own personal relationship. And don't worry, we still very happy and well on our way in building the life we want together.

Mastering the Art of Negotiation - Pegah Abdolhosseini, Partnership Specialist at Thinific

(Dec 2, 12pm PST / 3pm EST)

Why does the word negotiation make most people cringe? Negotiating is one of the most powerful skills to leverage when you want to speak out and stand your ground in any situation. In this talk, Pegah will walk you through some best practices, techniques, and tips for stepping into and walking out of any negotiation with confidence.

Workshop: Talk Money to Me: A Roadmap to Creating Financial Goals - Cissy Hu, Portfolio Ops at GV

(Dec 2, 12:30pm PST / 3:30pm EST)

Have a growing savings account, allocating to your 401(k), and paying down debt, but not sure what to do next with your money? Join this workshop to level up on your money management strategies. During the session, we’ll evaluate your 3 key financial metrics, create attainable financial goals, build out your personal finance tech stack, and walk away with the ultimate roadmap for managing your personal finance system.

The Promises and Perils of Physical Investments - Hena Mehta & Dipika Jaikishan, Founders of Basis

(Dec 2, 1:30pm PST / 4:30pm EST)

In this candid chat, Hena and Dipika will be talking about home ownership, investing in precious commodities such as gold, and the pros and cons of these tangible assets.

Breakout Rooms

(Dec 2, 2:30pm PST / 5:30pm EST)

Get matched into sessions with your fellow attendees to have private and honest conversations about money. A moderator will teach participants how to use the matching tool and facilitate the flow of topics as we breakout and regroup.

Outro

(Dec 2, 4pm PST / 7pm EST)

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved