US$25

Lessons from the Middle Ages: Faith and Meaning - Matt Clifford - ii Salon

Actions and Detail Panel

US$25

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Refund Policy

Contact the organiser to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
In this new ii Salon series, fellow Interintellect Matt Clifford looks at contemporary lessons from the Middle Ages, starting with religion

About this Event

The medieval period is perhaps the most neglected era of history - lacking the branding of the classical age and the glamour of modernity.

But it’s a period with deep and important parallels with today’s world - particularly on big, timeless topics like faith, power and death!

In this Interintellect Salon series, we explore what the Middle Ages can tell us about the human condition. We start with faith and meaning.

The Reformation is so dramatic and revolutionary that medieval religion is too often dismissed as corrupt and moribund. But that’s a huge mistake: medieval Christianity was vibrant, diverse and contested.

We’ll look at questions that echo into the present day, such as:

  • How and why was belief regulated, both formally and informally?
  • What made the established Church ripe for Reformation?
  • Why did so many medieval people think the end of the world was imminent and what did they do about it?
  • Why did monastic and mystical experience become popular?
  • … and much more!

We hope you can join us!

***

Save the dates:

  • Part 2: Lessons from the Middle Ages: Power and Division - February 16
  • Part 3: Lessons from the Middle Ages: Violence and Conquest - March 16

***

Part 1 - texts to read:

In more depth:

***

Time zones:

    • 12 pm in San Francisco
    • 3 pm in New York
    • 8 pm in London
    • 9 pm in Berlin

Why not add the ii Calendar to your calendar?

***

You will be sent a Zoom link before the event, when bookings closed.

Free entry for all Interintellect Hosts (with option of being a patron - see here).

Apply for a student discount at hello@interintellect.com.

Community forum acceptance is currently referral based, but we have a public waiting list - see here.

Find our online code of conduct here.

Tags
Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Refund Policy

Contact the organiser to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved