$0 – $32.90

Jamie Figueroa: Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer w/ Ramona Ausubel

Actions and Detail Panel

$0 – $32.90

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Join Books Are Magic for a discussion of Jamie Figueroa's spellbinding debut, BROTHER, SISTER, MOTHER, EXPLORER, with Ramona Ausubel!

About this Event

Community Guidelines:

By registering for this event, you agree to be respectful towards authors and other audience members and to refrain from inappropriate or disruptive behavior and/or harassment of any kind including, but not limited to: hate speech, spam comments, slurs, obscenities, etc. Any attendees who violate these community guidelines will be immediately ejected from this event and barred from attending all future Books Are Magic events.

To request accessibility accommodations, please contact assistant@booksaremagic.net.

A fableistic, “curious and dazzling” debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (Booklist, starred review).

In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their mother’s passing, two siblings spend a final weekend together in their childhood home. Seeing her brother, Rafa, careening toward a place of no return, Rufina devises a bet: if they can make enough money performing for privileged tourists in the plaza over the course of the weekend to afford a plane ticket out, Rafa must commit to living. If not, Rufina will make her peace with Rafa’s own plan for the future, however terrifying it may be.

As the siblings reckon with generational and ancestral trauma, set against the indignities of present-day prejudice, other strange hauntings begin to stalk these pages: their mother’s ghost kicks her heels against the walls; Rufina’s vanished child creeps into her arms at night; and above all this, watching over the siblings, a genderless, flea-bitten angel remains hell-bent on saving what can be saved.

Jamie Figueroa received her MFA in creative writing from the Institute of American Indian Arts. Her writing has appeared in Epoch, McSweeney’s, and American Short Fiction. She is the recipient of the Truman Capote Scholarship and is a Bread Loaf scholar. Boricua by way of Ohio, Figueroa lives in northern New Mexico.

Ramona Ausubel is the author of four books: Awayland: stories, Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty, A Guide to Being Born and No One is Here Except All of Us. Winner of the PEN/USA Fiction Award and finalist for both the California and Colorado Book Awards and the New York Public Library Young Lions Award, her work has been published in The New Yorker, The New York Times, One Story, The Paris Review daily and elsewhere. She teaches at Colorado State University and the Institute of American Indian Arts.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved