ITHAKA: The Next Wave 2017

Actions Panel

ITHAKA: The Next Wave 2017

When and where

Date and time


The Roosevelt Hotel 45 East 45th Street New York, NY 10017

Map and directions

How to get there


Innovating and Adapting to Address Today’s Higher Education Challenges

America’s universities and colleges are being challenged to improve educational attainment, while also facing declining public support and increasing income inequality. Improving educational attainment requires that leaders in higher education experiment, pursue new approaches, and work together with colleagues inside and beyond our institutions in creative ways.

At the Next Wave 2017, we will convene leaders from academic libraries, publishing, technology, and higher education to reflect on innovations and collaborations happening across higher education and on how our existing frameworks must continue to adapt to address higher education’s overarching challenge: getting more people educated at lower cost. What can we learn from what’s working and what’s not? How do our existing frameworks need to adapt? What other barriers must be overcome for new approaches to take hold? Are there success stories worth championing and adopting at your institutions?

Agenda and Speakers

Registration and a light breakfast starting at 8:00 AM.

9-9:15 Welcome and Introductions

  • Will Fenton, Elizabeth R. Moran Fellow, American Philosophical Society; Teaching Associate, Fordham University; and Contributing Editor, PC Magazine
  • Kevin Guthrie, President, ITHAKA

9:15-10:15 Keynote

  • Clay Shirky, Vice Provost for Educational Technologies, New York University

Network with your colleagues from 10:15 - 10:45.

10:45-12:00 At the Leading Edge: Transformation and Innovation

  • Gordon Jones, Founding Dean, College of Innovation and Design, Boise State University
  • Michael Koby, Associate Dean, International & Graduate Programs, Washington University Law
  • Meredith Woo, President, Sweet Briar College

We will enjoy a luncheon together from 12:00 - 1:00 PM.

1:00-1:45 The Provost Perspective: Emerging Strategies and Gaining Alignment

  • Marni Baker Stein, Provost and Chief Academic Officer, Western Governors University
  • Neil Weissman, Provost, Dickinson College

1:45-2:45 Research: New Workflows and Frameworks

  • Arnold Hirshon, Associate Provost and University Librarian, Case Western Reserve University
  • Judy Ruttenberg, Program Director for Strategic Initiatives, Association of Research Libraries
  • Roger Schonfeld, Ithaka S+R Director Libraries and Scholarly Communications, ITHAKA

Network with your colleagues from 2:45 - 3:15.

3:15-4:15 Teaching: Understanding Students and Helping Them Succeed

  • Alan Bearman, Dean of University Libraries and the Center for Student Success and Retention, Washburn University
  • Stella Flores, Associate Professor of Higher Education and Director of Access and Equity, Steinhardt Institute for Higher Education Policy, New York University
  • Jade Winn, Assistant Dean for Instruction, Assessment & Engagement and Associate University Librarian, Programs, Planning & Assessment Unit, USC Libraries

4:15-5:15 Publishing: Building New Capacities

  • Darcy Cullen, Assistant Director, Acquisitions, UBC Press
  • Alan Harvey, Director, Stanford University Press
  • John Sherer, Director, University of North Carolina Press
  • Donald Waters, Senior Program Officer for Scholarly Communications, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

5:15-5:30 Closing

Join us for a reception beginning at 5:30 PM and ending at 7:00 PM.

Registration and Hotel Information

Invited guests are asked to register for the event.

Our special room rate with the Roosevelt Hotel at $279 per night plus taxes and fees closed on October 28, 2017. You may still make your reservation at the hotel online using this link, or by calling (888) 833-3969 but current rates will apply.


Please reach out to Heidi McGregor, VP, Communications at ITHAKA.

  • Alan Bearman

    Alan Bearman

    Washburn University

    Professor and Dean

  • Darcy Cullen

    Darcy Cullen

    UBC Press

    Associate Director, Acquisitions

  • Will Fenton

    Will Fenton

    American Philosophical Society

    Elizabeth R. Moran Fellow

  • Stella Flores

    Stella Flores

    New York University

    Associate Professor

  • Kevin Guthrie

    Kevin Guthrie



  • Alan Harvey

    Alan Harvey

    Stanford University Press


  • Arnold Hirshon

    Arnold Hirshon

    Case Western Reserve University

    Associate Provost & University Librarian

  • Gordon Jones

    Gordon Jones

    Boise State University

    Dean, College of Innovation Design

  • Michael Koby

    Michael Koby

    Washington University Law

    Associate Dean, International & Graduate Programs

  • Judy Ruttenberg

    Judy Ruttenberg

    Association of Research Libraries

    Program Director for Strategic Initiatives

  • Roger Schonfeld

    Roger Schonfeld


    Director, Library and Scholarly Communication Program

  • John Sherer

    John Sherer

    University of North Carolina Press


  • Clay Shirky

    Clay Shirky


    Vice Provost for Educational Technologies

  • Marni Baker Stein

    Marni Baker Stein

    Western Governors University

    Provost and Chief Academic Officer

  • Donald Waters

    Donald Waters

    The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

    Senior Program Officer for Scholarly Communications

  • Neil Weissman

    Neil Weissman

    Dickinson College


  • Jade Winn

    Jade Winn

    Programs, Planning & Assessment Unit, USC Libraries

    Assistant Dean for Instruction, Assessment & Engagement and Associate University Librarian

  • Meredith Woo

    Meredith Woo

    Sweet Briar College