International Conference on Linguistics Communication

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
The International Conference on Linguistics Communication (LingComm21) brings together lingcommers from a variety of backgrounds.

About this event

The International Conference on Linguistics Communication (LingComm21) brings together lingcommers from a variety of backgrounds, including linguists who have developed skills in communicating with public audiences and communicators who have developed a “beat” related to language.

Taking advantage of a digital-first format to bring together lingcommers from around the world, LingComm21 is a small, highly interactive conference containing a mix of beginner and advanced panels on specific areas of lingcomm, as well as smaller special sessions emerging from the shared interests of attendees. Tell us which topics you can speak to, and we’ll match you with co-panelists who share your interests.

Confirmed invited speakers (so far) include:

  • Kate Burridge, Monash University
  • Nicole Holliday, University of Pennsylvania
  • Ben Zimmer, The Wall Street Journal
  • Megan Figueroa and Carrie Gillon, Vocal Fries
  • Lane Greene, The Economist
  • Mignon Fogarty, Grammar Girl
  • Daniel Midgely, Because Language
  • Grant Barrett, A Way with Words

For much of the world, the conference will run April 19-22, in a single four-hour block each day beginning at UTC 20:00. That’s beginning at 10am in Honolulu, 1pm in Seattle, 4pm in Montreal, 9pm in London, and 10pm in Paris. For those on the leading edge of time zones, the conference will run April 20-23, beginning at 6am in Melbourne and 8am in Auckland.

The conference will be held in a custom space on Gather, a proximity chat platform which lets participants wander around and chat with in spontaneous small groups between sessions, and which includes a virtual coffeeshop and pub for off-hours and informal meetups.

Date and time

Location

Online event

Save This Event

Event Saved