How Do You Know? Exploring Our Great Quest for Truth - Interintellect Salon

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Fellow Interintellect Taylor Pullinger dives into perception, learning and truth, and that great thirst for knowledge that drives humanity

About this Event

"One of humanity’s strongest animating forces is the drive to understand the world around us. At an individual level it generates curiosity and awe, and the persistence to keep digging until the answers are uncovered. Small breakthroughs can change how our species sees itself in the universe and open up new perspectives for us to begin understanding the world all over again.

How do we discover these things? Surely we learn through perception – yet our eyes and ears deceive us. We perform controlled experiments, bolstered by statistical significance – yet a replication crisis plagues many areas of science. We consult the experts – yet even the most experienced among us are swayed by bias.

And once we think we know something, how can we be sure it is true? Is it subject to change...?

At this Interintellect Salon, the first in my new series, we’ll be discussing the various ways that we make sense of our world — whether it's interviewing eyewitnesses to uncover a story, manipulating molecules in a lab, or looking closely to capture truth in the stroke of a paintbrush. " - Salon host Taylor Pullinger

***

Good to read pre-salon:

***

Time zones:

    • 1 pm in San Francisco
    • 4 pm in New York
    • 9 pm in London
    • 10 pm in Berlin

***

Free entry for community members. Donating is possible - see here.

We have many more cool Interintellect events coming up - see here.

Waiting list for the community - see here.

You will be sent a Zoom link before the event when bookings closed.

Find our online code of conduct here.

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved