Free

Healing the Effects of Racism for Black Women in Recovery

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
SHE RECOVERS Critical Conversations: Healing the Effects of Racism for Black Women in Recovery (All Women Welcome)

About this Event

Healing the Effects of Racism for Black Women in Recovery : A Critical Conversation (All Women Welcome)

SUNDAY, OCTOBER 18TH, 2020

11:00 AM Pacific / 1:00 PM Central / 2:00 PM Eastern 90 minutes

FOLLOWED BY:

Closed Roundtable Conversation (Black Women Only)

1:00 PM Pacific/3:00 PM Central/ 4:00 PM Eastern

60 minutes

PRESENTED BY:

JOCELLY HARVEY, SHARI HAMPTON, ESTER NICHOLSON , & VALERIE MASON-JOHN

We (Shari, Ester, Valerie & Jocellyn) are hosting this critical conversation because racism is a reality for Black women in recovery. It prevents us from having a safe space to heal that reflects who we are and honors our life experience. But we have known this all along. We just can’t ignore it any longer. How do we begin to heal the effects of racism? We begin with acknowledgement. We begin by first being our authentic selves. We begin to heal by creating authentic spaces where we are welcomed and supported to open up, be vulnerable, and talk honestly about racism in all of its manifestations. Our lives and our recovery depend on it.

YOUR MC:

Jocellyn Harvey

PRESENTATIONS

Shari Hampton: Racism and Your Recovery: Becoming Aware

Valerie Mason-John: Coming Home to Our Beautiful Black Bodies

Ester Nicholson: Overcoming Racial Trauma Using the Steps and EFT [Emotional Freedom Technique]

Taryn Strong: Offering Amends from the Heart of a White Woman in Recovery to Our Black Sisters in Recovery

We welcome you to join us (for free) on October 18th for this critical conversation and opportunity to be seen, heard, and held. Your healing journey matters, and you don’t have to recover alone.

ABOUT THE CRITICAL CONVERSATION SERIES

Inclusive, collaborative dialogues focused on topics crucial to women’s healing are necessary if we want to continue moving forward in recovery—together.

Women in or seeking recovery, clinicians, academics, treatment professionals and policy makers are encouraged to join us for these free virtual events.

TOGETHER WE CAN CREATE CRUCIAL HEALING OPPORTUNITIES FOR PRIORITY POPULATIONS

The SHE RECOVERS Foundation is committed to reducing stigma and promoting healing opportunities related to women and recovery through public awareness programs and education of key policymakers, stakeholders, and the general public. In the Fall of 2020 the SHE RECOVERS Foundation began hosting the Critical Conversation Series featuring behavioral health professionals and key influencers.

The application process to be able to provide CEUs is currently underway.

For more information about upcoming Crucial Conversations please visit sherecovers.org

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved