Hands Up! Live ASL Practice for Library Staff (Review Series)

Actions Panel

Hands Up! Live ASL Practice for Library Staff (Review Series)

Practice and review American Sign Language skills for library settings in this interactive series.

When and where

Date and time

Location

Online

Refund Policy

Refunds up to 7 days before event
Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

About this event

  • 35 days 1 hour
  • Mobile eTicket

Tuesdays, January 24-February 28, 2023

2:30 PM-3:30 PM Eastern/ 1:30 PM-2:30 PM Central/ 12:30 PM-1:30 PM Mountain/11:30 AM-12:30 PM Pacific

Online sessions via Zoom (6 weeks, 1 hour per week)

Review and practice your ASL for the library setting in these interactive sessions! This series will focus on review and deep practice of vocabulary and concepts introduced in the Hands Up!: Live ASL Practice for Library Staff Beginner and Intermediate series and in the ALA eCourse ASL for Library Staff, level 1. Recording access will be available through 30 days after the final session. Certificate of completion available upon request with successful completion of post-test.

Prerequisites:

Hands Up!: Live ASL Practice for Library Staff (Beginners) AND Hands Up!: Live ASL Practice for Library Staff (Intermediate)

OR

ALA eCourse: American Sign Language for Library Staff, Level 1

Pricing:

  • Individual: $240 (includes live webinar and recording access for the 6-week series)
  • Group rates available for 10 or more registrants; contact info@storiesbyhand.com for more information

About the Instructor:

Kathy MacMillan (she/her) is a nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, instructor, consultant, writer and signing storyteller. Kathy is the author of the Little Hands Signing board book series (Familius Press) and Little Hands and Big Hands: Children and Adults Signing Together (Huron Street Press), as well as many other books for children, teens, and adults. She has worked in public libraries for over twenty years, and was the Library/Media Specialist at the Maryland School for the Deaf, Columbia Campus from 2001 to 2005. Kathy presents American Sign Language programs for families and workshops for library staff and educators. She also serves on the board of Deaf Camps, Inc., a nonprofit organization that provides camps for deaf and hard-of-hearing children and children learning American Sign Language. She lives in Baltimore, MD.