Free

Multiple Dates

GWOSC Office Hours

Actions and Detail Panel

Free
Event description
GWOSC Office Hours are an opportunity to ask questions directly related to gravitational-wave research with LIGO, Virgo, and KAGRA.

About this event

GWOSC Office Hours

GWOSC Office Hours are an opportunity to ask questions directly related to gravitational-wave research with LIGO, Virgo, and KAGRA. Participants are invited to ask for support related to any content available on GWOSC, including:

  • Accessing gravitational-wave data
  • Gravitational wave software and analysis
  • GW Open Data Workshop materials
  • More general questions related to research with LIGO, Virgo, and KAGRA
  • See also the GWOSC website at https://www.gw-openscience.org/

    Schedule

    Office Hours will be held weekly at 2 time slots:

  • Thursdays at 10:00 AM Central European Time [08:00 UTC]
  • Thursdays at 1:00 PM Pacific / 4:00 PM Eastern [20:00 UTC]
  • Each session will last approximately 1.5 hours.

    Code of Conduct

    All participants in GWOSC Office Hours are expected to follow the LSC-Virgo Code of Conduct. Anyone found to be in violation of the Code of Conduct may be immediately removed from present and future office hours.

    In general, all discussions in GWOSC Office Hours should be directly related to gravitational wave research and education, and should maintain an atmosphere that is respectful and professional. GWOSC Office Hours are intended primarily for educational purposes, and are not an appropriate forum for individuals to promote specific scientific theories or accomplishments.

    Repeat visits

    While we are happy for visitors to return to multiple office hour sessions, we ask participants to understand that space is limited, and to be respectful of the needs of others. We ask participants to only register for one time slot at a time, and to wait until after their visit to schedule their next appointment.

    Connecting

    GWOSC Office Hours will be held using a small Gather Town virtual meeting space. Ticket holders can view the Event Page for connecting instructions. You may wish to try Gather Town in advance of the meeting.

    Mentor Schedule

    You may wish to view the mentor schedule before selecting a time.

    Mentor Instructions: See the Mentors Page

    Organizer https://gw-openscience.org

    Organizer of GWOSC Office Hours

    Save This Event

    Event Saved